Day 37 -Blowing the top off of a nasty funk


I don’t know about you, but sometimes I go through swaths of time where I just can’t quite function. I fake it really well, but things pile up and then I am left with a giant mess to try to fix. I hate to even call it depression because it’s not catastrophic, but I think that’s what makes depression so insidious. It sneaks up on you, and it’s a little like the opposite of the proverbial frog in a pot of boiling water. Instead of the heat gradually increasing until it’s too late and the frog gets boiled, the water gets colder and colder until the frog is frozen in place, and everything is all locked up. It’s paralyzing. I let my house go, I haven’t blogged or walked on my treadmill in a week, and I have been eating all kinds of crappy food. I

This last couple of weeks has been that way for me, and the weird thing is that I don’t even know it’s happening until I’m mired in the middle of it, much like having your car stuck in the mud and coming to the realization that you just can’t simply drive away from it.

After a lot of years dealing with this, I have discovered pharmaceuticals aren’t helpful for me. The best thing for me is sunshine, fresh air, decent food, exercise, and good music. The latter will pull me out of a bad funk quicker than anything else, but for some reason it’s not been a go to remedy, and I will have to change that.

Something I noticed that isn’t helpful is the internet. I spend a lot of time listening to podcasts regarding news and current events. Talk about depressing information. Even though the internet is full of good things, I think I will be taking a break from so much of it.

This time of year is toughest because I am so, SO, done with winter and the cold and Daisiesdarkness that comes with it, and so ready for Spring to arrive. I went through my phone this morning to clean out some junk that I don’t need anymore, and I found some pictures I took last spring. How lovely to find a nice reminder that spring is just around the corner.

Another thing that just blows the top off of the funk I have been living with is Pandora. For those who don’t know, Pandora an app that play all of your favorite music, and is free with ads that play. I am not getting paid to give this recommendation, it’s just an app I really love.  As soon as I am done writing this blog post, the volume is going up, and the housework is getting done. I’ll probably open the windows and get some fresh air in here too.

I feel like the fog that has been hanging over my head is evaporating, and I can finally take a breath and feel like a human being. Here’s hoping that you are having a sunshiny happy day. If not, try some music. Turn it up loud blow the top off of that funk. Blessings all!

 

 

 

 

 

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

2 Responses to Day 37 -Blowing the top off of a nasty funk

  1. timkeen40 says:

    This is very good writing. You drew me in with the first two sentences. I can agree with you. I don’t call what I have depression or bipolar or any of those labels that somehow stigmatize the human thought process. But the plain nature of my existence is that I am hot an cold. I have periods where I am on fire, where all the world make sense. Then I have periods where I just function and nothing else. When I am in that funk, the thing that makes the most sense for me is just to keep doing the same things. Things that I like to do will be good to me again if I just keep doing them. My two things are writing and music. Just keep doing them and they will help.

    By the way, I live in the country. I love me some fresh air and sunshine.

    Hope what I have written makes sense. Have a great day.

    Tim

Leave a Reply

