Day 26 – The Binding and the Backlash


Right off the bat today, let me provide the disclaimer that mine is a religion of one; specifically, I don’t adhere to any group or other individual’s idea of how they think religion or spirituality ought to work. My beliefs are my own and, quite frankly, are an amalgamation of things that I have picked up along the way. I tend to be more eclectic pagan than anything else, but you also can’t take all of the Lutheran out of the girl, even if you take the girl out of the Lutheran church. While I am mostly a very conservative person, I am very liberal when it comes to social and religious topics. As long as you aren’t harming anyone, I don’t have a problem with what you are doing…mostly because it’s just none of my business. I guess you could say I am a libertarian white-lighter, if a label is needed.

Having said all of that, I ran into a very interesting article on the internet today, which lead to a flurry of reading and listening this morning. A diverse group of witches/pagans has decided to participate in an ongoing spell to “…bind Trump and all those who abet him…”, and has invited the internet to join them by publishing the spell, the list of supplies, and the waning crescent moon dates when these rituals are to take place.

As part of my internet travels this morning, I had a look at Twitter. By searching #bindtrump and #magicalresistance, I ran into a whole lot of interesting things. Some of what you find out there are pictures of people’s altars, which I find interesting, and pictures of some things that were immediately funny to me like the picture of a cheeto with sewing needles sticking out of it. I giggled at that, thinking to my self that this lady really meant business, and moved on with my internet meanderings.

This picture stuck with me though, because it’s such a graphic representation of the lengths people are willing to go to when they feel cornered and afraid. Or, maybe they feel righteous indignation over having someone elected to be president who is (IMHO) clearly not a good fit to be a national leader.

I understand all of that and empathize with those feelings, but I have a few observations to share.

  1. Fear is your biggest enemy here. No president lasts for more than 8 years, and I realize this guy behaves like a wrecking ball wherever he goes, but please just take a minute to breathe and think before you act.
  2. When you bind someone, it’s no small thing. Binding should be a last resort in your spiritual tool kit. In my estimation it is something you do only in the direst of times when you have nothing left to lose, and maybe not even then. Not only are you binding yourself to the person(s) who is the focus of the ritual (and their energy can travel up that connection you have made if you aren’t careful), but it may be hard to get rid of down the line. Who wants energy like Trump’s or, even worse, Bannon’s, on or near you?  Ew….that’s just nasty. Every time I think about that I get a mental image of sharing my toothbrush with some random dog who has just  been chowing down on days-old road kill in July. Bleh!!. Again this is just my opinion, so take it for what it’s worth to you.
  3. For anyone out there thinking to take a prayerful approach and wants to pray for Trump & company to fail, please consider that prayer and spell work aren’t really much different. Praying for someone to fail is just black magic in my book, and isn’t nice. It could also come back on you, and who wants that kind of backlash?

Having said all of that, I have some suggestions to make:

  • For magical practioners out there who feel like they want to do something to make a difference, how about casting protective spells, or spells for peace, or spells for our government to be guided by wisdom and not greed?
  • How about we be circumspect about our spell work and prayers, and not be flashy and in your face about it, especially in a negative way. Even Jesus instructed his followers to go into their closet and pray. And, why not treat our neighbors as ourselves? Is Trump a complete ignoramus who appears to be doing harm to our country? I think so, but he is still a human being and to curse him is to curse ourselves.
  • I used to belong to a group that sent what we called spiritual love bombs to folks who were hurting, or in need of help. What if we prayed for love, peace, and healing, rather than praying for someone to fail? I think the world would be a lot better place.
  • For some interesting opinions, check out Dragonfeather369 and Bluesage on You Tube. They have some interesting wisdom to share on this topic.

Again, this is all just my two cents right off the cuff this morning. I would welcome all of you to chime in. Here’s hoping you all find much love and light in your life to share. If you don’t find much, give out as much as you can. It just amplifies, because what you put out into the world comes back to you, and that’s the truth no matter what religion you practice. Many blessings to you all!

 

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

One Response to Day 26 – The Binding and the Backlash

  1. Hel'wyse says:

    so very well said. Whenat post on facebook, I just cringed because what you put out is what is returned to you 3 fold……..well said, so well said.

Leave a Reply

