Day 22 – Back in the saddle


I’ve been away for a few days, and now it’s time to get back in the saddle with the exercise and blogging. I missed the blogging, but not so much the exercise. As it happens I got a lot of walking in by default while I was away, which was a bonus. Exercising is so much easier when it just happens as a part of what you are doing.  I won’t count those days here since I didn’t stop to document them, but I will resume the count.

It had been my intention to blog while I was away, but the weekend was so jam-packed with all kinds of activities that there was barely time to breathe. So, I will try to do double duty and get a couple of Travel Blogs done this week as well. I have a boat load of pictures, and tales of adventures by a Bumpkin and her Flirt visiting a foreign land. But, more about that later.

On today’s list of things to do are several things. This afternoon involves lots of housework, and laundry. It’s my last day of vacation, and I need to catch up with everything that went neglected while I was away. Tonight I need to go grocery shopping. Older Son was kind enough to clear out the fridge while I was gone, and now there’s a lot of empty space that needs filling. He even cleaned and organized the inside. Big brownie point score for Older Son!

Before I dive into all of that, this morning I will go help my Mom shave her dog.  My parents recently adopted an older dog who has some health issues. Her last owner lavished her with things like pork chops, eggs and ice cream. Needless to say she’s much larger than she needs to be, but since living with my parents her weight has come down and she’s much more active. Her former diet also caused some rotten teeth, and those will be addressed at an upcoming vet visit. She’s a hairy little beastie, and needs a little help cleaning away some of the excess.  This poor poochie (let’s call her Furry Schnitzel) has got mats and all kinds of issues with hair around her eyes, legs and mouth. Hopefully today we’ll be able to help her get rid of some of that so she can be more comfortable.

There’s a little hitch in my morning plan. In my old age I have developed a few allergies, and cats and dogs are on the list of things that make my nose run now, when they didn’t before. I don’t know why that is the case, but I love dogs and won’t let a little runny nose stop me from lavishing attention on any available and willing canine. Life is too short not to.

Here’s hoping you have a lovely day, and it finds you doing something that will give you much joy and no regrets. Blessings all!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

