Day 21 – The world is so noisy


As I sit here cooling down after my morning walk, I’m sipping coffee and contemplating the sounds I hear around me.

This is a topic I’ve written about before, a long time ago, but I think it bears mentioning again. There’s so much noise in the world, and I’m kind of tired of it.

In the morning, it is kind of quiet here. The train hasn’t come by yet, and all I hear is the traffic, and my typing. I think the thing I like most about the morning is that there is nobody talking to me. Yesterday, there was a lot of talking going on at work. When there wasn’t talking at my desk, I was plugged into my phone listening to podcasts so that I could drown out other conversations. There’s a lot that goes on at my office which isn’t anyone else’s business so I try my best to stay out of it.

When I visited the little town where my brother’s family lives, I was struck by how quiet it is. It could be that a move to a small town may be in my distant future. lol…very distant future.

Sounds can be comforting sometimes, though. I don’t mind the sound of traffic, because that’s what I heard outside of my grandparent’s front door the whole time I was growing up. Pair that with the ticking of a clock, and it sounds like home to me. I love the sound of my boys talking together like men, even though sometimes they still fight and argue like boys. I love the sound of my parents fussing over their new dog. I like the sound of the coffee pot burbling away, and the smell that goes with it.  I can’t ever go wrong with the sound of good old-fashioned Rock and Roll.

Here’s hoping you all have sounds in your lives that give you good memories, and a lot of warm fuzzies. Blessings all!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

