Day 20 – Bumpkinitis


Newsflash for all of you, my Faithful Readers. I’m a Bumpkin. Yep, that’s right. I’m a Bumpkin and I like it that way.

I live in a very rural area, and my idea of being in a big city is going to Bismarck or Fargo. Those are even too peopley for me. I hate Minneapolis, and forget driving through Chicago. Every time I go to one of those places I am so grateful to leave it, even though I may have enjoyed my stay.

It’s pretty rare to see an actual homeless person where I live, even though they exist. I remember when I was very young, we took a trip and ended up in Chicago walking around downtown during a layover. My Dad had to explain to me about homelessness when I inquired about the old man laying on a bench covered in newspaper. I didn’t really have the capacity to understand at that age, and to some extent I still have a hard time wrapping my head around it.

I don’t like crowds, and I’m not much of a party girl. I like my life simple, and quiet. If there’s excitement going on, it’s probably because something bad is happening. Hum drum is where life is warm and comfy.

Given all of the above, you may wonder why I am taking a trip to Las Vegas this week. Well, it’s been on the bucket list for a long time, and when some friends decided to get married there, I jumped on the opportunity to go.

We’ll be flying, and I am terrified. I’ve flown before, but that was with someone who knows about these things, and it was many years ago.This time I will be flying with my Flirt, and he has never flown. Thank goodness he is excited about the trip. I don’t know that I would do this by myself. I’m hoping we like it, and that he wants to fly some more. It would be nice see more of our own country, and I’d love to see it with him. I’d really love to fly out to see Younger Son where he is stationed.  I’d really love to have a girls weekend somewhere…Patty Sue, let’s go see somewhere we’ve never been. Maybe Denver?

So, this little country mouse is making ready to go to the big city. My suitcase is mostly packed and laying on my living room couch so I can put things in it that I have forgotten. Yesterday we took a trip to the airport, just to scope it out. I feel like I’m ready, now I just have to wait a few more days. It’s scary, but I think it will be great.

Here’s hoping you get up and go do that thing that you really want to do, even though it scares you. Blessings all!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

