Day 16 – Need to get my hands in the garden dirt


As I sit here wrapped in my shawl, slurping my post-walk coffee, I feel longing for warmer temps and green things.

It’s about this time every year that I begin to wonder if I will have the time to garden this year and, if I think I do, what will I plant?

I always plant tomatoes. I love the little grape tomatoes the most. They are my favorite snack to eat while puttering around my back yard. I don’t often get to putter, but when I do, I have a handful of these lovely little beauties. It’s like sunshine on a vine, the best flavor, and one of my most favorite things about Summer.

This year, I think I am going to try to spruce up my front yard a little bit. It’s been a blank slate for the whole of the almost 17 years I’ve lived in this house, with the exception of one summer when I planted flowers down by the sidewalk. This year, I think it’s going to be fruit bearing shrubs. I might just get wild and plant something different like Lingon berries, and maybe some blueberries. I’m hoping to create a space that is pretty, yet useful.

Some years ago, I planted some trees on my western property line, and they have made a difference in how the snow blows through my yard. I even had quite a few Nanking cherries on my bush last year, but the birds and squirrels got them. This year maybe I will net the tree to  keep the birds out, so I can have enough to make some jelly for my Dad.

My Dad told me a story about eating Nanking cherries off of bushes as a kid, just out playing in the neighborhood. They grow so well here, that they just grow everywhere if left alone. That’s the kind of plant I like.

I have a rule for my property, and any plant that lives here. They must enjoy neglect and abuse. I am not home a lot, and anything I plant here cannot be delicate or needy.

Or, maybe I just need to be home more so I can plant a larger variety of things? That’s certainly a consideration that has bowled across my brain consistently this winter, for a whole host of reasons.

If you enjoy gardening and the itch to dig around the soil and plant things has got you, here’s hoping you have fun planning your garden. These last months running up to Spring seem to last forever! Blessings all!

 

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

