Day 14 – Writing when my brain is empty


Some days I get out of bed with my head almost bursting full of things I want to write about. Other days, like today, I’ve got nothing. Absolutely nothing upstairs to write about.

I could tell you all sorts of things about what my house sounds like today, and that it’s surprising to see Older Son up so early. Now he is sitting across the room looking at me and asking questions. It’s hard to write meaningfully when someone’s looking at you, and you know they wish you’d put down what you’re doing and talk to them.

Clock is ticking, kiddo… Tick, Tock…gotta get this blog written, run through the shower, throw on some clothes and get down the road to work.

When I started this 100 day challenge, it not only meant 100 straight days of exercise, but also 100 straight days of blogging. I love to blog, and so that was the stick and carrot in front of my face to get me going on this 100 day challenge. So that means I have to write something, and on days when my brain is absolutely devoid of anything really meaningful, I will have to resort to blathering.

Yes, that’s my big weapon in my blogging arsenal – Blather. And now you all know the ancient North Dakota Norwegian secret to life and small talk. I’m not doing too badly today, as I haven’t resorted to talking about the weather.

Older Son ventured into the kitchen to make some coffee, and is now back in the living room asking me questions about my blog, and talking about the new King Kong movie. I think the lesson here for today is that it’s a better thing to pay attention to a person than a screen, so I will go do that.

Here’s hoping that you all have someone close by who is really interested in conversing with you. No matter how interesting blogging might be, life is too short to ignore the people in it. Blessings all!

 

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

One Response to Day 14 – Writing when my brain is empty

  1. Hel'wyse says:

    well done Lady………………………………..

Leave a Reply

