Day 13 – I am not overweight, I’m famine prepared


My mind works a little differently, as you may have guessed by now.

I learned the hard way that I needed to pull my thinking around to a positive way, as opposed to being so negative. I used to be very, very negative.

When I was in the middle of getting divorced, which was probably the most agonizing thing I’ve ever had to endure, I had to learn how to be positive in my head just to survive. I have to say, it’s one of the better habits I have ever developed in my life. However, I think I have done too well at that in some cases.

For example, I can practically rationalize chocolate as a vegetable: chocolate comes from cacao beans, and beans are a legumes which are good for you. It also contains sugar, which comes from beets or canes, which are vegetables, and that’s also good for you.

You get the picture.

Well, my doctor isn’t too enamored of the idea that I think I am not over weight, just merely prepared for any famine or apocalypse that may occur. She says I am riding the finest hairy edge of becoming diabetic, and I need to get with a healthier lifestyle or else.

Well, shoot. There’s no Pollyanna fix for that statement.

So, I get on my treadmill every morning, and drink my healthy, non-weird smoothies, and try really hard to drink a lot of water, and not eat too much junk. So far, I think I am having a little bit of success… I see that I have lost 4 pounds since starting my 100 day challenge. I know that it is all water weight, but it’s less hanging around my body so it’s certainly nothing to complain about. I just wish I could tell the difference without standing on a scale.

Here’s hoping you look up and notice that the changes you have made to make your life better are making a difference. If not, keep going. It won’t be long until you notice some kind of change. Blessings all!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

