Day 12- The Car Wash as Therapy


I was supposed to go ice fishing today, but circumstances dictated otherwise. So, I figured I would take advantage of a free Saturday and get my oil changed.

I want to give a shout out to the folks at Minot Automotive. They always do a good job, and get me in and out quickly. I didn’t even have a chance to get my whole coffee down before I was paying my bill and on my way out the door.

Silly as it seems, I have a whole ritual with regard to getting my oil changed. I get up early, go get a my coffee and something to eat, and hopefully arrive in time to be first in line. After the oil change comes a car wash.

Today is a good day to get a car wash. It’s cold enough to keep slush and dirt off the car so it stays clean longer, and warm enough so that the car wash will still be open. Sounds weird, I know, but that’s typical winter car washing strategy up here on the High Plains.

I love going through the car wash. There’s just something soothing about the sound, the warmth, and smell of it. Now, if I could get someone to sit in the back seat behind me and rub my shoulders while the car was being washed, that would be the amazing!

There’s something really lovely about finding joy in mundane tasks. I know people who are perturbed at being made to feel anything but excitement. I have learned the hard way to feel grateful when nobody is making excitement for me. Hum drum is just my speed most days, and it’s awesome.

Here’s hoping you are able to find joy in some everyday task and take solace in the ability to just slow down and breathe, even if it’s only just long enough to get your car washed. Blessing all!

 

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

2 Responses to Day 12- The Car Wash as Therapy

  1. Hel'wyse says:

    I am so so so enjoying your blog…..you make me smile so much and then I rethink some of my opinions………………………………

    • Sparrow says:

      Thank you so much 😊❤

      I have been trying to do a lot more reading, and find myself rethinking some things as well. I find it ironic that it’s so hard to form a solid opinion sometimes, in this Information Age.

Leave a Reply

