Day 5 – Making use of Nooks and Crannies


Another day downtime-1-28-17, and I am struck by how quickly time passes. I am completely unaware of how much time has gone by until I look up and am astonished what the time is.

I seem to be perpetually astonished this way.

Yesterday, I only experienced fail once with the treadmill stopping on me. Not terrible, but in fussing with it, I seem to have lost 6 minutes of my 30 minute walk. Well, at least according to my Fit Bit. That doesn’t take away from the fact that I did spend 30 minutes walking, but I don’t get whole credit for it. If I am to be able to track my progress, I will need to find some ways around all of this tomfoolery. Or do I need to? I’d like to, because I want to be able to look back and see just how much work I had to do in order to lose the weight and get healthy.

So, who says I don’t get credit for how much I walked? The company who makes Fit Bit? Face Book? My peers? Me?  All of the above, but that is easily fixed. I’m only the real one that matters, because I know. My body knows, because it’s stiff from the morning assault of exercise, where before there wasn’t any. I’m in constant recalculate mode to make sure I am on time in the morning. Time is everything in my daily life. Keeping track of time, and what I do in a given span of time,  is the top thing that seems to matter. It feels like I need to cram in what’s important to me in between work and other responsibilities.

I’m more than a little sick of it, no lie.

I crave to be able to just get up and not worry about how much I can get done in a day. I want to just sit at my computer and write some days, and not have to care about anything else. I’ve missed blogging, and by now you have undoubtedly noticed that my 100 Day Challenge is just as much about blogging as it is exercise. Getting healthy isn’t just about the body, it’s about the mind too, and I needed to make time for it.

I have been fretting about what I would have to chop out of my life in order to “make time” for a healthier lifestyle, and for blogging.  I think the answer isn’t to chop anything out, but to just rearrange things when the opportunity presents itself, or fill up the space with something positive where there is an empty nook or cranny available.

You may have noticed that I have a tendency towards verbosity. Part of this 100 Day Challenge is that I am trying to learn how to blog meaningfully, crammed between exercise and running to work,  while throwing back my morning smoothie. I want to learn how to cram more and better meaning into a smaller amount of verbiage because time does get away from me.  There have been so many times I had something to write about, but felt like I couldn’t do it in whatever sliver of time I had available to me. Today is awesome, because it’s Saturday, and I don’t have to be anywhere for quite a while, and I can write to my heart’s content. It feels REALLY good to write again.

Here’s hoping you find all kinds of lovely opportunities in the nooks and crannies of every day life. Make them count, even if your goal is just a really awesome nap. Blessings!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

