Of beer, bologna and beets


I had a very interesting conversation today about bologna. No kidding! If it’s one thing that North Dakotans take seriously, it’s food. All food. And, you better take 2nd’s, as someone’s going to get their feelings hurt, or wonder if you are unwell for not being a “good eater”.

The discussion started out as a simple plea for ideas as to what to do with ring bologna on Facebook. The flood gates opened and there were so many suggestions, as well as references from people’s childhood memories of eating it, either in the ring or sliced version. Personally, I loved when my mom would either fry bologna, or put it in a sandwich with cheese, pickles and Miracle Whip. Good stuff!

How lovely to have a discussion with a whole bunch of folks I haven’t even met, about a simple subject like food. We all have our likes, and dislikes, but still had a very good, positive discussion. Okay, we were talking about ring bologna, but it was a good time! We talked about other things as well, but the bologna is what brought us together for a few minutes for some fun in talking about one of the most mundane subjects ever: food.  Big thanks to my friend “E” for starting the discussion. It was fun, and I got a lot of interesting ideas!

I also ran into a discussion about beets. Yes, I love beets. I know it’s not a favorite veggie for a lot of people, but it’s one of my favorites. One of the best ways I have ever eaten beets is sautéed in butter and tarragon, on a grill. SO YUMMY!  For those of you who are not fans of beets, give it a try. I bet you might like it.

Last, but not least, I had a really interesting beer tonight.

Firestone Walker - Stickee Monkey BeerI was gifted with this amazing  beer from my friends whose cats I babysit sometimes. It’s made by a very interesting brewer, which you can check out here: http://www.firestonebeer.com/

I’m a sucker for a good dark beer, and this was a good one. In fact, it was so good, I drank the whole thing. It was a 22oz,  11.6 % alcohol beer. What does that mean? That means that I am one very tipsy Sparrow. But I’m getting ready to head off to bed for the night, so it’s no matter.

Tonight’s theme has been food and drink. Here’s hoping that you have many opportunities to try new foods and drinks, whatever that looks like for you, and that you have awesome people to share and discuss it with! Blessings all!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

