Well, hello there!

I’ve had two weeks off to do what’s needed to get ready for Younger Son’s graduation, which is tomorrow. Unfortunately, work reared its ugly head and I didn’t actually get the time I was expecting. That’s ok… I will survive this too.

One of the things high on my to-do list this week was to sit down to my blog and actually write something. Today, even though I have more housework to do than God, and laundry backed up for miles, I decided to ignore all of that and take time for myself. If my house isn’t perfectly dusted…whatever.

I miss you guys and think of you often. frequently throughout the week I will have some very interesting thing crawl across my brain, complete with a blog title, and then my day carries off with me. Some day I will be able to get back to my regular blogging. It’s one of those things that looms large in my bucket list of things I want for me.  Right now, however, many things appear to need my attention and so I run hither an yon making things happen as requested/needed/dictated.

Soon, my time is coming.

Younger Son is graduating tomorrow.  I’m very proud of him…not only is he going to graduate on the honor roll, but he scored well enough on the ASVAB test that he is going to be able to train to be an aircraft mechanic in the Navy starting in August. He took the oath back in January, and I think he is looking forward to moving on. Life in our fair city is more than  little stifling for him, I think. I will miss him very much, and I am pretty sure I will be lost without him for a long time after he leaves. But I can’t say I’m not ready to be on my own. It’s been a long haul, and I need to rest.

Yes, there will be much in the way of new beginnings, including a new beginning for me. Once Younger leaves home, I will mostly just be looking after myself. Older Son Still lives at home, but he works and is busy with his life. Many times I don’t even get to see him but a few minutes a day. And that’s ok…he’s 21 and doesn’t need Mom hanging over his shoulder. I’m pretty happy to not hang over anybody’s shoulder any more. I’ll be pretty happy to just live for me for a while. Sweetie and I on the bike

Just me and what I want to do…or not do.

I took a picture from the back of my Flirt’s motorcycle. Going for rides is something I really like to do…

Unfortunately, he’s trying to sell his motorcycle. I will miss it, but he’s looking to eventually buy a new one and I am hoping it has a nice squishy, comfy back seat for my extra curvaceous backside. 😉

I would also like to travel. I generally don’t go too far, but now I’d like to start branching out. Vegas is looming large in my Bucket List, and I am dropping hints to my Flirt now. He’s never flown before, and it’s going to take some fancy talking to get him in a plane. I think I might be able to, though…I just might. Flights from here to Vegas are really cheap, so it’s a doable getaway once I get my post-school-aged-children finances stabilized.

I’d like to work on my house. It needs a lot of TLC, which there isn’t a lot of budget for. I’ll start with paint…the trim throughout the house needs a fresh coat, and my bedroom absolutely needs to be painted. It still has the paint on the walls that my Ex chose. Blech…

When Younger leaves home, I think I am going to redo his room for me, and use my bigger bedroom as an office/craft/storage/spare room. New paint and curtains will make a huge difference in both spaces. It will be just the change I need.

Speaking of changes…mostly, I’m not a girly girl. I am not a huge fan of pink, I don’t wear makeup and I hate wearing heels. However, I find my taste in decorating is beginning to lean that way. I have really plain curtains throughout my house, and I suddenly feel a need to jazz things up a bit. For a while I ignored the urge, but I think I am just going to give into it and see where it goes. I was not born with the Martha Stewart gene, and I am no decorating pro. However, I have had success making my own curtains.  Trying to find interesting curtains in the stores has proven to be not fruitful, so I decided to widen my horizons a little, and I found this lovely scarf at Target:

Curtains I am so looking forward to turning this lovely material into my new kitchen curtains…it will be awhile before I can get to it, but it will be worth the wait.

Speaking of waiting, I need to get off my butt and get some more stuff done in preparation for tomorrow. Lots to get done before family comes in tonight, and the graduation and party tomorrow.

Here’s to new beginnings!

 

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

