Getting old, or getting practical?


Last night the plan was to watch a little tv with My Flirt and then we were going to go out and listen to some live music at a local bar. We were going to ring in the New Year in a place full of people, music and frivolity. I was tired, and didn’t feel so energetic, and he wasn’t feeling so well either, so I turned to him and let him know that if he was good with staying in, so was I.  So we did.

He commented to me some time later that we must be getting old for not wanting to go out on New Years Eve. After thinking about it, I have to say that we are practical. Why go out in the bitter cold when you don’t feel well, when you can have a perfectly nice time cuddled up with your sweetie watching a good movie?

I would imagine that getting older has a hand in making practical decisions. I know a great many people who are my age who still live very social lives, and love to party hard. I tried really hard for a great many years to keep up with everyone else, but have come to a place in my life where I recognize that I am just not the social butterfly I’d always wanted to be. And, I am finally ok with that.

My poor Flirt, on the other hand, is the total opposite. He is a very social creature, and loves to be amongst people. If he’d have felt better, I know we’d have gone out for the evening. However, he has come to an age of practicality as well, I think.

The fantastic news here is that there are lots of ways to celebrate the New Year, and our quiet evening home in front of the tv was exactly what we both needed.

In other news, I managed to pack in some last-minute fun into the end of my year:

~My friends and I managed to avoid the 2012 apocalypse by gathering at my house on the Winter Solstice. We enjoyed each others company, ate good food and laughed much. There are plans to do this more often. Why wait for a faux apocalypse to get together?

~My Flirt took Younger Son and I ice fishing. We had never been ice fishing before, and it was an interesting experience. Luckily we had a portable ice fishing hut because a terrible wind came up. Northern Pike by BZI then made the terrible mistake of stepping into one of the test ice holes the guys had drilled earlier. It had filled in enough that I couldn’t see it, and I went in all the way up over my knee. I did dry out by sitting in front of the heater, dangling my sock and wet leg and boot liner in front of it.  After all of that, we only got a few bites, and no fish. I did witness a monster Northern Pike swim under several of our ice holes. It was still a good day, and I hope we get to go again sometime.

~We saw The Hobbit. Wow! As expected, this movie packs a lot into almost three hours. Not only was it visually stunning, but it’s a well done story. I haven’t read the book…yet. I sure want to now. Before we went to the movie, the Boys and I met my parents for lunch at a Thai restaurant. Yum!

In closing, my wish for you all in 2013 is that you all have prosperity, happiness and good health. I hope that you have everything you need, and that 2013 brings you opportunities for you to make your own excitement, and that no unwanted excitement lands on your doorstep. Blessings all!

 

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

One Response to Getting old, or getting practical?

  1. Hel'wyse says:

    blessings to you and congrats on finding what we older folk found……we do not have to anything!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

