The lack of cacophony


I’m sitting here at my desk and there is no sound other than the traffic going by, the cat crunching away at his breakfast, and the wind blowing the rain against the house. The absence of noise other than those few sounds is really blissful.

I think that we get so caught up in the daily grind that we tune out most of the racket that is generated by daily life…the phone ringing, people talking around you, the tv or radio playing in the background, etc.

A person doesn’t realize how far a little solitude can go to soothe you, until the cacophony stops and you aren’t bombarded by so much sound anymore. You just don’t realize how large sound is until there isn’t any, and then your head is literally filled with thoughts that there wasn’t room for with all of the sound shoved into your ears all day.

I so badly would love to crawl back into bed and just listed to the rain. But, not today…work beckons.  What a blessing to have been able to sit here in peace. I think this is a habit that needs cultivating…

Here’s hoping you all have peaceful moments in your day. They make a difference.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

One Response to The lack of cacophony

  1. Sometimes I get up after midnight – and experience the same peace you speak about. These are some of my most special moments.

Leave a Reply

