Make big plans…


…so sayeth my fortune cookie.

I get a charge out of fortune cookies, and always look forward to opening one upon having finished a meal at my local Chinese restaurant. Yesterday we ordered out from work, and I had the Kung Pao Chicken..Yummy!

Even better than the meal, I got this fabulous fortune cookie. Let me back up a bit…I’m taking the fortune as fabulous, and not ominous. On first sight, I was reminded of a curse I heard once: “may you live in interesting times.”  Personally, I prefer my times boring and smooth. If I want life to get interesting I’ll make arrangements for that myself, thanks. Big plans don’t necessarily mean plans for a trip or for anything fun. And, what the heck is big? I’m sure that means something a little different to everyone.

Make big plans…I can do that. Have done that. Will continue to do that. I have plans of all shapes and sizes. Big plans belong on bucket lists, and on lists for preparation, and lists for rainy days. Big plans can be made ahead of time, or be a spur of the moment idea.

You might wonder why I’m making such a big deal out of three words I randomly received in a fortune cookie. I guess I was having such a rough day, and this little fortune showed up like a ray of sunshine in a dark dingy room. You could say that I found a small blessing, and clung to it.

I’m don’t necessarily believe that fortunes in cookies automatically come true, but I think allowing something positive to plant a seed of positivity in your mind is very worthwhile.

Here’s hoping you have lovely fortunes in your cookies, and that you live in times only as interesting as makes you happy. Have a great day, all!

 

 

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

