When Road Rage Rhonda appears


Some time ago, I wrote a post about my tendencies of being a bit of a Lead Foot Annie, and did go into some detail about how I need to learn to be more patient driver. What I didn’t confess is that I have another driving alter ego: Road Rage Rhonda.  Rhonda likes to use her horn when someone really does something dumb on the road in front of her. Last night was a prime example of what causes Rhonda to pop out of her hibernation.

After running a few errands, I picked up my Flirt, and we went shopping at The Big Blue Box Store. Surprisingly, shopping went smoothly, and we were through the line and out in pretty short order. We even got out of the parking lot without any issues, which is hard to do at that store.  All was smooth sailing until I got into the right hand side of the double left turn lane to get back on the main road. When the light went green, I slowly pulled forward and turned accordingly.

What caused Rhonda to burst forth in all of her horn-blowing glory was the bicyclist who, having previously been in the left side of the double turn lane, swerved right in front of me… so very closely to my grill. This guy seriously almost ended up being flattened, and I have to think that he must have been drinking because he wasn’t too steady on his bike.

So, out pops Rhonda, and there goes the horn. And it keeps going…honk, Honk…HONK… etc.  The horn might have stopped blowing there, except for this guy had the temerity to look over his shoulder at me with a snide expression. The honking continued, indignantly for at least another hundred feet, in rapid fire disgust.

The very unsatisfying part for poor Rhonda is that my new car has a very weak horn. There is nothing intimidating or authoritative about my new horn at all. In fact, after discussing with the Flirt, we came to the conclusion that it sounds more like a drunk duck, or perhaps a turkey with a bad case of Montezuma’s Revenge. Poor Rhonda had to crawl back into hibernation without feeling like she’d had any vindication at all.

The good news is that the offending driver didn’t get flat… but, oh my…it was close.

Here’s hoping that your road is free of drunken bicyclists, and that, if you need to use it, your horn is more robust than mine.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

2 Responses to When Road Rage Rhonda appears

  1. Hel'wyse says:

    SPARROW….this biker was out preforming his twists and turns for the biggest olympic event to hit the world! greater than the hurdles and the flash swimming. Bikers all over the world, but mainly in France and Spokane washington…grid their loins with spandes and pad their butts to save their genitals and think in the oldest male attitude……I RULE THE ROAD…and please do not get inbetween them and their life long vision….the quickest time and the most confused, madden vehicle gas guzzling non eco people who drive cars.
    …hand over my heart……be patient….soon it will be 4 wheelers in the snow on the snowy icy road with dead deer hanging over side and men in camaphalge….
    bow thy head and pray

  2. dragonfae says:

    Wow. Most of the bicyclists out here (in LA) are pretty careful … but I think that’s only because of all the idiot drivers. Not many of them pay any attention to cyclists (or pedestrians for that matter). BTW, I love the alter-ego’s name!

Leave a Reply

