Jump in the lake? Yes, thank you…I think I will!


I got a text from The Flirt this afternoon before I got off work, asking if I’d like to go to the lake for a swim tonight. Oh boy, did I ever. It’s been really hot here in North Dakota lately, and a swim in a nice cold lake would hit the spot.

Earlier this Summer, The Flirt and I met his family at Lake Sakakawea (yes, that is the correct spelling…). I don’t own a swimming suit, so I didn’t plan on getting into the water. When I got there, The Flirt’s sister, my best buddy, “C”, asked why I was just sitting on the shore with my toes in the water. She didn’t care for my “nothing to swim in” explanation and very bossily told me to get my keester in the water. As it turns out, the rest of them were swimming in their shorts and t-shirts as well. After a bit of arguing with “C”, who wasn’t taking no for an answer, I made a decision.

Life is just too short to sit around and watch other people have all the fun. I jumped in the lake with all of my clothes on…and I loved every minute of it. Riding home with wet clothes on was no picnic, but it was worth it.

The big question I had to finally ask myself is, “what will it hurt?” I’ve been asking that of myself a lot lately, and I think my life has been a lot more simple as a result. That has been kind of the crux of my Summer of Yes…Life is too short. If it looks like fun, and it won’t hurt anything or anyone, let’s do it!

Today, I was able to talk Younger Son into going a long, so he and I, and The Flirt, and his Giant Dog, went swimming. What a lovely evening, just paddling around in the cool water while the sun set. I’d had a hard week already, so this was a most welcome event. I think Younger Son enjoyed himself way more than he thought he would, and he agreed that it would be nice to spend more time at the lake next summer.

I had enough to do that I should have stayed home and worked on all of the things that need catching up on. If I die tomorrow, I don’t believe I’ll have any regrets for having let the chores wait another day. I’m glad we jumped at the opportunity and did this very simple, very relaxing thing. It made all the difference.

Here’s hoping that you have some lovely opportunity pop up that you can easily grab hold of and run with. Life on this Earth is too short not to take advantage of them.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

One Response to Jump in the lake? Yes, thank you…I think I will!

  1. Hel'wyse says:

    one lesson that has been hard for me to learn, but learn it I did…..no one will remember that you cleaned yr refrig out and dusted, but they will remember having a hearty laugh with them.

Leave a Reply

