Be open to opportunities


I have a lot to do today…cleaning, laundry, yard work. I have baking and cooking to do. There are bills to pay and closets to organize. This moment finds me already having had a nice walk this morning and downed one cup of coffee. Another one beckons…and so I refill my cup.  I just need one more hour for me before my day has to really get started.

Younger Son brought in the last of the two surviving plumbs that came from our plum tree. It was quite a trip to see our tree covered with plumbs this Spring. Unfortunately only two survived. I shared the first one with him, but he didn’t like it. So, I’ll eat this last one by myself….it sure is sweet. With any luck, we’ll have more than two next year.

This last week has been quite a trip. The Cube Farm I work at has changed hands, and I am now with my third employer in this same building. There wasn’t so much upheaval the first time we changed employers, but if I couldn’t deal with change and upheaval, I wouldn’t still be working there after all this time. I keep telling myself that…I figure that if I make it my mantra, it will become truth. Over time, the dust will settle and life at work will settle back into a routine again. What that routine will be, I don’t know, but it will settle.

It’s getting time to prepare my house and yard for winter. We had a very mild winter last year and after having a run of bad winters, last year’s was a gift. Generally, mild winters and harsh winters come in groupings, or cycles. Just like everything else.

I’m struck today by the cycles of different things and I am reminded that even though nothing good (like my lovely Summer of Yes) lasts, nothing bad lasts either.  I will get through the upheaval at work, the court date that looms ahead of me, this coming winter, and all else negative that comes my way.  I will string together all the “Yes” moments together and create a cycle that may not have existed if the effort wasn’t made to see a positive pattern and grab hold of it before it evaporates. Because they do…if you don’t make the effort to be in the moment and grab the happy times when the opportunities present themselves, they are lost and you have to wait until the next one comes along.

Having said that, the coffee pot is dry, and my house is not getting any cleaner while I sit here. Time to jump back into the routine and keep things going. If I am really good with my time, perhaps I’ll have time at the end of my day to find something outrageously fun to do. What would that be? I have no idea…but I’ll make sure to stay open to the opportunity should it arise.

Here’s wishing you all many lovely opportunities to live in the moment. Grab them and hang on tight before they slip away.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

One Response to Be open to opportunities

  1. Teresa Silverthorn says:

    “I will string together all the “Yes” moments…”

    Excellent advice, Sparrow. Thanks for posting it.

Leave a Reply

