Oh what a lovely gift!


Greetings all!

Well, it’s been quite a summer, and apparently I’ve been so active that I haven’t had the time to blog for the last two months. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but I will get into more about that in my next post.

For this initial post, getting back in the blog saddle, so to speak, I’d like to acknowledge that I was blessed to have been given not one, but four blogging awards by one of my favorite bloggers, Teresa Silverthorn of Beyond the Pear Tree. If you haven’t stopped by Teresa’s blog, please make sure that you do. She shares some amazing insights and is a wonderful storyteller.  I’d like to take this opportunity to thank Teresa for bestowing these lovely awards upon my little blog. They are as follows:

                   As part of having received these, I am supposed to tell you ten random things about me. Ok…here goes!

1. I love to blog, but don’t have a lot of time between two jobs, two kids, house, boyfriend, etc… It’s a horse I’m going to make more time to get back up on, though. I sure did miss blogging this summer.

2. I believe in reincarnation. I figure there is just too much to learn and get it all right in the space of one lifetime, so we must be able to come back and keep trying until we get it right. Goodness, I hope I’ve learned several particular lessons well enough that I can learn something else next time around.

3. I think I might be allergic to my cat…I’m hoping between the doctor for me, and the vet for him, we can figure something out so I don’t have to give him away.

4. I just picked the first tomato from my garden…a small golden pear-shaped fruit that will no doubt taste fabulous. I love fresh food from the garden!

5. Having  just got back from vacation to South Dakota, I still have one day off to do whatever I want with. Yay!

6. I’ve reached an age and time in my life where I feel like I have a chance at a new start.

7. My house is an 800 sq. ft. fixer-upper that is pretty crowded for three. It won’t be too long until the boys leave home to start their own lives, and then it will be just right for me and my stuff.

8. Every year I say,  “This is the year I will get a fence to go around my back yard!” Looks like I will be putting one around the front yard too, given that my neighbors have taken to brawling on my front lawn. No kidding…I couldn’t believe it either.

9.  It’s football time again, and I just dropped Younger Son off at practice. It always makes me so paranoid that he will get hurt, but I would be a liar if I didn’t admit that I love to watch him play.

10. This has been a Summer like I’ve not known in many years. I usually don’t make the effort to get out to see and do, but this year I did. I did so many fun things this summer that I feel like I’m starting to make up for lost time. Several items have been checked off my Bucket List, and now I have room for more!

Next I am supposed to nominate 20 people…Holy cow. I’m not sure I want to limit my list, so what I am going to do is reference  you to each and every one of the blogs I have listed in my links at the right. Honestly, I wouldn’t have them in my links if I didn’t find them a worthwhile place to go. I hope you have the time to stop by and visit each and every one…they are all fabulous places to spend time.

Thanks again to Teresa for thinking of me. I sure do appreciate it!

I have a cup of coffee in hand, a list of tasks that need to be accomplished….time to jump back into the real world and get some things done. Even though the list of things I need to do is kind of large, I still feel relaxed and refreshed. Here’s hoping that you are all feeling the same!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

One Response to Oh what a lovely gift!

  1. Hel'wyse says:

    “Oh what a lovely gift” you wrote. I love your Blog, fact it is the only one I read.

    You are a wonderful gift.

    with very deep affection Hel’wyse

Leave a Reply

