The pull of another cup of coffee


It’s been quite an interesting morning, and it’s only 8:55.

I got a call from The Flirt today at 6:30 am…he’d hit a deer on the way to work. He is ok, and his car is still drivable, but I think it rattled him pretty good. To add to the issue of extensive front end damage the deer apparently had the temerity to survive the run in, and then mocked him from a nearby hill-top. Those darned deer.

I’m feeling even better today than the last few. My one diseased lung is healing up nicely, even though I still experience bouts of coughing that leave breathing a little bit of a challenge. I think all the fresh air I got yesterday made a lot of difference. I got some really good sleep last night and feel much more energetic today.

I took the boys to their last full day of school (Yay!) for the year, and then did some quick shopping. I’m back at home now, surrounded by all the indoor chores I should have done yesterday, when I was out in the back yard blowing off steam instead. Truthfully, I have much more that needs doing outside, but the indoors needs to get a little love too.

I have this week off, and have so much I would like to do, which butts up against all the things I need to get done first. With Older Son graduating this weekend, and company coming for his party on Saturday, I have a whole bunch of organizing and deep cleaning to do, not counting the painting and repair work I wanted to get to this week as well. There is only so much one person can do, so I think I’ll just start with some laundry while I take a few minutes to tap out some words here.

In truth, it is all about the extra cup of coffee. Hmm…I think I’ll be a big slug while I drink it!

That was the real reason I allowed myself the time to sit down and write a third blog post in four days, which I never get to do. That extra cup of coffee sitting in the pot was calling my name. I am admittedly weak in the face of this enticing cup of coffee, and feel just a little extra empowered to have the time to sit down and slurp away on this lovely beverage.

Will I get everything done that I need to do today? Probably not…but, I will have had a few extra quiet minutes to myself, having shut the tv off, and hearing nothing but the traffic going by the house, my own tapping on the keyboard, and the cat fussing through the window at the birds on the feeder in the back yard. What a lovely way to begin a day…just the time it takes to drink this extra cup of coffee and sit in peace makes all the difference.

Here’s hoping you all have time for some quiet time with that extra cup of coffee, tea or whatever lovely simple thing makes your morning.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

