Hug your favorite tree…you never know when someone will cut it down


Here in my little town, which isn’t so little any more, we’ve had a really crappy development. The business I work at is located on the Northwest edge of town, not too far from the corner of 21st ave and the 83 bypass. In the field on that corner there was a wheat field, and it had this lovely, great big burr oak growing in it.

I was fortunate enough to have taken one picture of it. This particular picture was taken in September 2010, just before the leaves began to turn. There is more to see beyond this tree…quite a nice view of the valley from the Western edge of the Cube Farm property, but not for long.

It is a common phenomenon in North Dakota to see a lone tree growing in a field. Some speculate that farmers left a tree here or there so they would have a shady spot to take a break under. It seems plausible, and I have to wonder how many different times this tree sheltered someone in the middle of a hot work day. I estimate that it was somewhere between 75-100 years old when it was cut down. It would be interesting to have a playback of all that has happened in the presence of this tree. I’m guessing there have been some interesting things going on when nobody was looking.

Because of the dire situation in Minot with the lack of housing, due to last year’s flood and all of the oil workers swarming into the area, all the available land is being snapped up and built up with homes. I truly do understand the need, and we all knew it was coming, but I wonder why it is a good idea to tear down this lovely tree rather than use it as the focal point for a park in the new neighborhood that is in the process of being built? I predict that the homes that are to be built here will be cookie cutter in nature, smallish,  and set very close together.  I can’t say that it will be an improvement.

There are a lot of people at the Cube Farm who will be really angry that this tree was torn down. So many of us enjoyed watching it change with the seasons. Sometimes, when times were stressful it was nice to take a break and walk out to the Western edge of the property and just watch the branches of the tree sway with the breeze. That simple activity did so much to help decrease my stress level. I am very sad to see this lovely tree go.

Now that Spring is here, I’ll be out and about taking pictures again, and will show the “progress” that has happened since I last took pictures around the edge of town. It’s now become my new hobby to catalog the changes in the landscape around town with all the building going on.

Don’t forget to hug your favorite tree…someone may cut it down when you aren’t looking.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

4 Responses to Hug your favorite tree…you never know when someone will cut it down

  1. Aimee says:

    Always makes me sad…we had a beautiful tree next door on the empty lot at the back of the property. Still don’t understand why it was necessary to cut it down to build on that lot. I am a firm believer that sometimes when you really need it – trees hug back! 🙂

  2. Jeannie Thom says:

    My granddaughter Madison attended the daycare center at ING, the tree sat just outside the centers window. She was about three years old when she first pointed out the Monkey Tree to me. I had noticed the tree before and watched the changes through the seasons while walking in the area, but to see it through her eyes took the experience to a whole new level. She is eleven now and we have both moved out of Minot, but are still deeply saddened by this news. We loved that tree and for those who do no know..there were “seben” monkeys in the tree….

  3. Amy Schlag says:

    So very sad… we noticed it today. My fiancee and I absolutely cannot believe they tore it down. Agreed, it should have been used as a focal point. Nicely worded post…. Thanks SO much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

