Buffoonery by anyone’s clergy is destructive


I was surfing around CNN today, and found an interesting opinion article called Opinion: Supporting Buffoonery in the Clergy. While you can read the whole article for yourself, the long and short of it is that the author of the article is tired of the bad behavior of Protestant Clergy and wonders at people’s tolerance for it. While he sites several examples of said buffoonery (and I think the word is well used in this case), the shining example he gives can be seen in this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=AVkoQHCXSK8

This sort of things happens across all religious and cultural boundaries – it matters not whether you are Christian, Pagan, or any other spirituality. I witnessed a Wiccan priestess being treated in a similar, yet certainly more subdued, manner. She was carried on a litter to a ceremony, ostensibly because she was arthritic and had trouble walking. Rather than taking someone’s arm to walk 10 feet, she had people carry her on her seat. I have to call BS on that…I saw the look on her face.  She sat up straight with regal bearing, as though it were her divine right to be carried by her subordinates. It still makes me a little angry to think about it all these years later.

Having said that, I want to say here that Wicca is a beautiful religion, and there are many successful, sane and learned groups active in the United States today.  I still live by many of its tenets, and learned much that was worthwhile during my time with this group.  It was this particular group that was damaged due to the leadership’s willingness to be subordinate to people like the priestess I described.  I wasn’t the only person who disagreed with what was going on, but I wish more had. After this and a run-in with a charlatan, a wolf in sheep’s clothing in our midst who left our group splintered and emotionally battered, I left. I finally learned to listen to my gut and stop listening to the rationalizations of the group leader. I realized that true spirituality comes from within, and you can’t get that from anyone else. I’d also like to say here that our leader wasn’t a bad person but had some serious blinders, and I believe she learned a whole bunch of lessons too.

I can understand how it is the people come to the point of following blindly. It starts with the idea that you need to be led, and the willingness to trust your chosen leadership blindly. It persists with the letting go of logical thought, and the squashing of common sense and self-worth. You just keep stuffing down the notion that your leaders could be wrong, and you go with whatever they feed to you. These issues are compounded by a pack mentality that paints the bad behavior by the leaders as that of those who are “chosen”, and then continually reinforces it with rationalizations based on whatever holy book they use… or because the Pastor/Father/Imam/Rabbi/High Priestess/etc.,  said so.

I guess the bottom line of this blog post today, in response to the video link above, is to ask that people please think for themselves and not follow blindly. Just because someone says they are a chef doesn’t mean they can cook nutritious food. Just because someone says they are clergy doesn’t mean they can set a good example or be a good spiritual leader. Stop and think about what you are consuming in the way of spirituality…be aware that you are what you eat spiritually,  just as it is with your diet.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

3 Responses to Buffoonery by anyone’s clergy is destructive

  1. Hel'wyse says:

    so well said….so well said….BRAVO deare Sparrow…well said

  2. The Protestants have their own problems, that’s true.

    But, at least their not molesting children, and getting away with it every day – like the Catholics.

    • Sparrow says:

      Actually, the individual who was “crowned” in the video link I posted was accused of having molested four boys. He settled with them out of court. I anticipate that we’ll see more of that guy in the media going forward.

Leave a Reply

