Claim your age, and eat egg rolls for breakfast!


I took this week off from my primary job so I could get some appointments taken care of and work on some home projects that have been neglected in recent months. I’m very spoiled in that I can always count on being able to take President’s Day week off, because nobody else at work wants it.  It’s become a sort of tradition for me to take this week off, and I am so grateful that the tradition still stands this year.

Quite on the spur of the moment, I decided to take my boys and The Flirt for a quick trip to a town I used to live in. I wanted to get out of Dodge and do a little shopping in stores that we don’t have here.  I’m happy to say that the trip was a success. We did more window shopping than actually buying, but it was fun. I also got to visit with my brother and his family for a little bit, and that was fabulous. It’s my fondest wish that we can get away for quick trips like that more often…life is just too short to stay hunkered down in survival mode all the time. I’ve had enough of that for sure.

In other news, I’ve turned 43. Whoa. It’s a little strange to look at that number, and even stranger when I think about Older Son graduating from high school this May. Not that I begrudge my age at all…in fact, I’m embracing my 43-ness. What the heck is that, you ask? I’m claiming my age, because I GET to be 43. I get to experience being this age without coloring my hair and trying to hide the sparkly silver streaks that Nature has bestowed upon me. I get to not have to feel like I am not worthy anymore because I’m not a spring chicken. I get to be calm about life and my place in it at this age, because there is already too much drama in life without heaping on added worry and expense to try to cheat time, and Mother Nature.  But it’s not just me…it’s WE. We get to.  Most women are so worried about making themselves look younger, as though they can stave off the marching forward of time… I say, why not own it? Make it yours and claim it, society’s attitudes toward aging be damned. I’ve reached the mid-point of my life, and it’s been a long interesting road getting here. I look forward to the journey forward and all the fabulous and interesting things I will discover along the way. So ends today’s Soap Box…lol

As I sit here contemplating the idea of having a 2nd cup of coffee, and having eaten egg rolls for breakfast (try it sometime…interesting way to get your veggies right away in the morning!), I am plagued by the continuing reminder that my house needs my attention, and I have appointments this afternoon that need preparing for. Oh, but these first precious hours of the morning are so lovely to sit and pay attention to me, and what I want to do, and how I feel about things. I think that we as a society have forgotten the long-lost art of mulling things over, and taking time to think. Things move so quickly and we are expected to pack so much into each and every day that I think we’ve lost the ability to really ponder about things. Snap decisions are valued over decisions that are well thought out.  Not to say that you can’t make a good snap decision, but sometimes I think taking time to think things through might produce more options and better results in many cases. Just saying…

Well, the coffee is gone and my lovely, peaceful morning has evaporated along with it. The good news is that I get to do it again tomorrow…giggle! Here’s wishing you all the time you need want to ponder the things that are most important to YOU.

 

 

 

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

2 Responses to Claim your age, and eat egg rolls for breakfast!

  1. Hel'wyse says:

    43 huh? I can see your Mom smiling as she and I say…oh she’s just a teenager…..I still haven’t really started to own as you say, my grey hair! and still see myself (in my mind’s eye) as a nice middle aged Sophia Loren with a wink and a smile…..but when i see a photo, realize I am such a nice grandmother of 64 with dimples and grey hair!
    Hubby and I are going to North Carolina for a month and a half to sell out the contents of mother’s home, her car and house. She has decided to live with Adrienne, and I definetely feel that I got the easy part. Will see Mom for a day and night which is fine with me.
    I am thankfull that Adrienne has stepped up to caregiver and in doing this, it is only a small way we can help
    let’s see, I have had cold pizza for breakfast…even a shot of scotch 9bite the bird that got you down first ) but now I need to try egg rolls!
    Our oldest grandson is graduating from high school this year too…..my goodness…and my son is 22……time, never stopping for a rest. And you are right. We move too fast, drag things into our lives that do not necessarily belong there. I have no dishwasher, for I enjoy starting my morning off with a sink of soaking dishes and watching the drama from my backyard window that is over the sink…such joy to see robins, sparrows, blue jays and crazy squirrels who seem to forget where they placed their nuts! Then I sit with coffee and these days it means coffee with hubby….
    take care little sparrow and know you are loved

  2. dragonfae says:

    Hope you had a wonderful day dear! I’m happy to own the laugh lines and number (I’ll be 49 in March) but I can’t go along with the grey hair … mine are actually clear and refract light really well. Looks horrible. By the time I was 30 I was nearly 30% grey and started dying it … and refuse to stop. 😉 Happy for you that you can go without though … it’s a total pain. Enjoy the “me” time, we all need as much as we can get. 🙂

Leave a Reply

