Impatience isn’t a virtue


Yesterday and, actually, several times this last week, I’ve been terribly impatient.

Last night, I was invited to go out into the mall and sit with someone on my break while working at The Red Big Box Store, and I did. When I reached this person, they were on the phone. They acknowledged me, and then looked away and kept right on talking.

After a minute of sitting there trying not eavesdrop on this conversation, I got up and left in a huff.  I really despise being ignored, so much so that I have quite a chip on my shoulder about it.

Thinking about it now, and remembering snippets of the conversation that I was trying not to hear, I think the person was close to finishing their conversation, and I think they were just trying to finish up, and not really ignoring me per se. Perhaps, if I’d stuck around for another thirty seconds I’d have been able to have the conversation with this person that I’d wanted to have.

One of the things I need work on in my immediate future is my lack of patience, because it isn’t a virtue.  Life goes by quickly enough without trying to hurry every single thing along.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

4 Responses to Impatience isn’t a virtue

  1. Hel'wyse says:

    I am not a cell phone fan…I do not like hearing people’s conversations, and they do not talk quietly. The second thing I dislike is being put on hold because there is another call coming in. Excuse me, but I thought we were having a conversation here.

    Impatient, well, I see where you are on that….but life in general has reved up, and some of the old fashioned niceties have been pushed into a closet.

  2. Brea says:

    I’m not a fan of being ignored, either. If the other person was almost done, though, they could at least have held up the “one second” finger, just to let you know they were almost through.

  3. Brea says:

    PSSSST…! I gave you the Sunshine Award on my blog today.

  4. dragonfae says:

    I don’t like stuff like that either. I’m with Brea … this person could have motioned that they were almost done. Deep breaths … chocolate helps too. 🙂 *hugs*

Leave a Reply

