The importance and power of human touch


I’ve been thinking a lot about the power of human touch today, for a couple of reasons.

This last week I had a mammogram. It’s not that I actually wanted one, or felt that I needed it, but I’ve gotten to the age where my doctor has been pestering me for a few years to get it done. Luckily enough we have a mobile mammogram unit that goes from business to business so women can get their mammograms done during work hours without having to schedule time off. So, I signed up this year and it was an odd experience.

The lady who did performed the procedure was quite the Chatty Cathy, and I quickly realized it was a good thing. For you ladies who’ve not had it done yet (and you men who always wondered), it’s not as simple as just flopping a boob on a plate and having it squished down by another plate so you can have an x-ray taken. You actually have to get as much of the tissue close to your ribcage into the picture as possible, so the technician will actually scoop your boob up, and reposition (translation – PULL)Β  it farther onto the plate and then put her hand on your back and push you closer in. Sometimes she’ll actually have to do it a couple of times to get it right. The reason it was good that she was chatting and engaging meΒ  in conversation the whole time is that it was distracting enough that, while it was weird, it made the procedure go that much quicker. I’m not accustomed to having my chest manhandled in this manner, and it’s off-putting being touched like that. Not that she was rough at all…quite the contrary. She was as gentle as could be, and pretty caring about the whole thing, really. The people who do these procedures really are pretty special folks….this is not a job for just anybody. They have a gift for putting people at ease by voice and by touch, which makes it easier on everyone.

I happened to speak to a young lady I work with at The Red Big Box Store one night, and we got to talking about her mom, whom I know from working at The Blue Big Box Store. I sure do miss working with her, and I told the young lady that she should give her mom a hug from me to which she replied, “I don’t hug my mom!”, with kind of a giggle. This young lady is sixteen years old and is at that point in her life where it’s not cool to hug your mom. So we had a friendly chat about why she should hug her mom, just because. By the end of the night, I’d convinced her to give her mom a hug from me, and she grinned. I think she secretly likes that her mom will hug her all the time, but just can’t bring herself to admit it…typical of someone her age. The power of giving hugs is really not something you can measure with any accuracy, but I am quite certain that it’s something that no one should have to go without…both for the hugger and the huggee. If it’s the last thing you ever do, hug someone, because that is not only a mental memory, but a physical one too. Sometimes hugs don’t always come in packaging that looks like a hug, but is really a hug in disguise. Pay attention to those touches that are really hugs in disguise, because they are just as important, like the “high-fives” Younger Son is so fond of giving out. My kids don’t like to be hugged either, but they will tolerate an arm around their shoulders, a pat on the back, etc. It’s nothing hard to incorporate into your life…make the effort. Even if your kids don’t return a hug, they still need them.

Something I’ve discovered as being important to me is just the quiet touch of having your hand held. I am so very lucky that The Flirt likes to go shopping, and he likes to hold hands while we shop. My ex husband wasn’t into small physical expressions of affection like that, and I didn’t realized how completely starved for it I had been. Some would say it’s a small thing, but small things mean a lot. Last night I went over to his house to watch movies and, while we didn’t necessarily sit right up against each other, at one point he reached his foot over and put his toes on top of mine.Β  Not playing footsie, but kind of a hand-holding except with feet. It was a sweet gesture, and I dig sweet little gestures like that.

Here’s hoping that you have lots and lots of hugs and hand-holding in your lives. It’s made all the difference in mine.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

5 Responses to The importance and power of human touch

  1. Wonderful post Sparrow! Trust me, if I put my foot anywhere near the wife, she will yell at me to “put that stinky down and keep it away from me!” πŸ™‚ Sounds like your flirt guy is a keeper! πŸ™‚

  2. Brea says:

    Oh, Sparrow, how well-timed was this post? I so totally know how you feel. I didn’t realize just how “touch-starved” I was either, until I met Andy.

    Just the simple things, like you mentioned. Hand-holding, having someone brush their fingers along your cheek, and an arm around you as you sit together. Uffda!

    • Sparrow says:

      Uff-da is right! I still can’t figure out why I married someone who was so out of touch with me and what I like and need. I have to wonder if it wasn’t because I didn’t know myself until now?

  3. Pingback: Just a Touch | Brea's Air

Leave a Reply

