Reasons to watch the Super Bowl when you don’t like football


Football is not one of my favorite sports. I do like to watch when Younger Son plays, and I am always up to watching the UND Fighting Sioux play any sport. However, it’s not a sport I understand so well, or have any emotion for.

So what to do when this big event is happening if you could really care less who wins, let alone about the game in general? Here’s a list reasons to watch the Super Bowl, whether you like football or not.

1.The commercials – Companies pay big bucks to wow us during this big event, and generally come up with some pretty imaginative stuff. I’m looking forward to what they’ve come up with this year.

2. The National Anthem sung live – I’m a sucker for our National Anthem, and I love to hear it done well. This year, I just heard Kelly Clarkson, backed up by a children’s choir and drum band, sing a fabulous rendition of it. A+!

3. Since you don’t like football, and won’t be watching the actual game, it’s a great time to get stuff done around the house, between the commercials: I’m a big fan of what I like to call “Commercial Cleanup”, where you get up and do chores while commercials are on, especially if you have been waiting for a particular show and don’t want to miss it. In the case of the Super Bowl, I just turn it around and make sure I come back to the living room in time for the commercials. It’s a win-win!

4. If you have been invited to hang out with friends for the Super Bowl, no reason to stay home if you don’t care for the game:

A. Take a hand craft with you – I love to crochet, and those types of projects are small enough you can take them with you and work on it between the commercials

B. You are not alone…there will most likely be another friend at the party who could care less about the game, and would love to chat, play cards, etc…

C. Super Bowl food is fabulous. That alone is reason enough to sit through hours of a game that just does nothing for you. Make sure to take lots of whatever you are bringing,  go hungry, and  leave happy!

5. Halftime entertainment: There is always something interesting to see during half-time, and I am not talking about costume malfunctions. The entertainment is usually decent and is at least worth checking out.

Well, there it is… just a few reasons to watch the Super Bowl, when you generally could really care less about the game. Here’s wishing you a good time, and for those who do enjoy the game, I hope your team wins!

 

 

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

