Forming attachments is dangerous


I haven’t talked about The Flirt much in recent posts, mostly because I’ve been spending so much time with him that I haven’t had time to post much. The fact is, I’ve gotten pretty attached to him. Dangerously so.

Why would becoming attached to someone be dangerous? Because nothing good ever lasts, just like nothing bad ever lasts forever.

As it turns out, The Flirt got a new job. A fabulously high-paying job, typical of the kind of jobs that support the oil industry. This is a very good thing. Unfortunately, it means he will be moving away in the coming weeks, as the job is 75 miles away. He will commute daily until he can find a place closer, but he will leave. It’s not unexpected…I knew this was coming, but it’s still crappy to think about.

The good news is that neither one of us is willing to let the other go just because of a little distance. We’re both so busy that a little distance will probably be a good thing, and it’s not going to be a big deal.

But, I will miss him when he’s gone.

I’ve been telling myself I was stupid to let myself get attached, but the truth is that I was tired of living in a world that was all gray tones and no color. Now that I’ve had a taste of what life can be like when I am living for me, too, and not just for everyone else I’m not terribly willing to give that up. Oh well…as things are going in a new directions, I will just roll with it. What will be will be, and there’s no sense worrying about it.

One day at a time, living dangerously on the High Plains…

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

3 Responses to Forming attachments is dangerous

  1. Hel'wyse says:

    …….take heed of the term…The Flirt….which you use consistly for the gentleman. If it hasn’t been updated (the term) to malle friend that makes me laugh…or more, then the relationship is still in early seed.
    That you laugh and enjoy is so very important….to be having time for you to allow this fun time in is important……….
    but, I tell you, good things last forever….hubby and I are 43 years married.

  2. jemspacce says:

    wow amazing. i feel you completey cuz i’m in the same situation.

Leave a Reply

