A new start at Solstice


It never ceases to amaze me how things just kind of work out…even after things have been really terrible. I have more than a few examples, but I’ll use the most recent ones to illustrate.

Since last Spring, I’ve been locked in a legal brouhaha with my ex-husband. He felt that he was paying me too much, and decided he wanted to not only pay less, but also get a refund of several thousand dollars…so he served me with papers and drug me through the wringer. Recently this particular battle came to a surprising and abrupt end. The court rendered an impromptu decision and I won, in very large part. He has stated he will appeal it, but for now I can breathe a little easier.

As all of my faithful readers will remember, I have worked a second job at a Big Box Store (which has a very blue theme), for over a year . Recently, I hit a wall at that job and my B.S Meter went pinging into the red zone when one of the managers lied to me and let my schedule go to Hell, and then another tried to coerce me into taking responsibility for a really disastrous mess that the aforementioned manager caused. I put my  notice in and was done at that store last Wednesday. I started my new job at the RED Big Box Store this Wednesday. Talk about the difference between night and day…if I have to work a second job, it might as well be one with less overall B.S. to deal with. I believe I am going to like working at the Red Big Box Store much better, and am looking forward to a nice long employment there.

I realized that all of these good things that are happening come right at the time of the Winter Solstice, or Yule, for those of us who celebrate Celtic pre-Christian holidays. Yule is the longest night of the year, especially for those of us in the extreme North, and the celebrations surrounding this holiday are all about the fact that the light is returning. It is not lost on me that this is a time of renewal, and a time where good things can germinate and grow. As the light grows longer and longer each day, bringing us closer to Spring, I’ll be keeping it at the top of my mind to make sure to work at those things I want to grow into something bigger and better.

Traditionally, especially in agrarian communities, Winter is a time of rest after having worked hard all Spring, Summer and Fall to make sure you can have enough food to survive a long winter. Now days that isn’t the case, though it sure feels like it should be a time of rest and contemplation. I guess downsizing on my stress is the one big way I can really do that for myself, so I’m going endeavor to make life more simple.

It’s not a terribly well thought out plan, but it’s a jumping off point. Here’s hoping that this Solstice/Christmas/Chanukah/Diwali/Kwanza season is a jumping off point for whatever it is that you’d like to cultivate for yourself as the light grows brighter every day. Brightest Blessings to you all.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

3 Responses to A new start at Solstice

  1. Hel'wyse says:

    Blessed Yuletide Beloved….me too! transformation open to the Light and just taking care of these simple rules now…

    Remember the five simple rules to be happy:
    1. Free your heart from hatred.
    2. Free your mind from worries.
    3. Live simply.
    4. Give more.
    5. Expect less.

  2. dragonfae says:

    So glad things are looking up! I hope you had a peaceful Yule dear. And may your heart and home be filled with love and light for the year to come! *hugs*

Leave a Reply

