Life is full of little trade offs…The trick is to find balance.


As all of my Faithful Readers know, I have two jobs. I work at the Cube Farm by day, and The Big Box Store by night…the blue one. I think you know what I’m talking about.

Lately, I’ve had thoughts of defecting to The Other Big Box Store. The red one, with the bulls-eye.

I have a friend at The Cube Farm who has been talking to me about switching over, and I think I just might do it. I have to say, though, that I have been at The Blue Store for long enough that I’m comfortable there. The whole problem with that place is that it’s impossible to get your work scheduling straight, it’s disorganized, dirty and they have such a high turn over rate that there is never enough help. As a result of not ever having enough help, many of us “Floor Help” end up cashiering instead of keeping our departments straight. I hate cashiering, and my right elbow and wrist hate it too.

Every time I go to The Red Store I marvel at how clean it is, how every employee has a scanner to use and that things just seem to be more orderly in general. It’s so tempting to defect, but I would be giving up a lot of benefits I get at The Blue Store that wouldn’t be available to me at The Red Store. Hm…lots to ponder.

Life is full of all sorts of trade offs, and some have been very worthwhile. Let’s take last night for example.

I picked up The Flirt, and we went shopping last night. We bummed around the mall, just going from one store to another looking at stuff. At several points he grabbed my hand and held it as we walked.  Wow… have you got any idea how long it’s been since a man has picked my hand up and held it? Oh…many more than I can count.  That Flirt is full of all sorts of delightful surprises, and I’m looking forward to finding out what else he has up his sleeve.

So, what’s the trade-off?  I gave up time with my boys at home for the evening.

I think the whole trick is to find balance. Sunday evening The Flirt came over for pizza and movies, and we all had a good time. Hopefully I can find and maintain just the right balance, and not let my social life get the better of me.

I think we can do this… Well, I guess we’ll find out!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

2 Responses to Life is full of little trade offs…The trick is to find balance.

  1. Sparrow Sparrow Sparrow….. First of all, my sincere hopes that you end up at the Red Store. You are a Red Store lady….not a Blue Store lady. I understand you may be giving up some benefits, but the peace of mind knowing that you can go to work without fear of contracting the Ebola Virus or Yellow Fever will be greatly worth the loss of some benefits. Second, your boys are teenagers. Trust me, as teenage boys, they LOVE when their are no parents around the house, irregardless of what they may be telling you. So….this leaves plenty of time for the Flirt! Guilt-Free time!! Go out with the flirt….often! That’s an order! Your boys are fine! Plus… I know they would want their dear Mom to be happy….. So Flirt! Flirt away!! 🙂

  2. dragonfae says:

    Darlin’, you deserve to be happy. Yes, balance is good, but you need a little Sparrow-time now and then and shouldn’t feel guilty about getting it. I’m with Mark … Flirt Away! *hugs*

Leave a Reply

