On being older than 18, but feeling 14 again


Last night was another late night, and it was lovely. The Flirt and I went out and played pool with his nephew and a friend. The interesting thing about this is that he invited my kids too. Unfortunately, they aren’t old enough to get in to the pool hall yet.  Truly, it was more the invitation that counted than anything else.

It’s been made pretty clear to me over the course of the last two weeks that I’m not 18 anymore (gasp!). The funny thing about that is the vision I have of myself in my mind’s eye is of me when I was 18, and my brain takes that for the gospel truth and acts accordingly. I’m guessing that my brain and my body actually stopped having any meaningful communication years ago, because the brain is constantly writing checks that the body can’t cash.

You’ll recall my last post where I talked about having my bluff called back? Well, since then, life has been a whorl-wind of jobs, home, kids and The Flirt. They don’t always necessarily always come in that order, but I seem to be determined to make room for all, and I’m a tired camper. Sleeping in today helps a great deal, but it’s been made very clear to me that I need to find a more workable balance.

Oh, but I’m having fun. I’m having so much fun…

I’m enjoying having someone to go out with and play pool or darts. I’m enjoying listening to his stories, and being listened to in turn. Really being heard…what a novel idea. And, I’d be a liar if I didn’t admit that it’s really nice to have a pair of strong arms wrapped around me while  being kissed silly. I would never lie about a thing like that… being kissed silly on a regular basis just doesn’t ever get old. Really…not ever.

I told The Flirt that he makes me feel 14 again, but somehow I don’t remember 14 actually feeling this nice.

Now, I supposed I should quit rambling on and get my housework done. One of my oldest and dearest friends, “R”, and her husband are coming to visit, as well as my parents, and The Flirt, his sister and her husband. I’m looking forward to having a houseful of people. Homes should be full of people and joyful noise on a regular basis, and I like the idea of that happening in my house again.

 

 

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

One Response to On being older than 18, but feeling 14 again

  1. dragonfae says:

    How awesome for you! I’m very happy that you’re happy. 😀

    On feeling 14, but it being nicer … I remember 14-20 too well and am certain that the raging hormones that are abundant in a teenage girls system make it impossible to truly enjoy that time period. And I remember when hubby and I first got together 20 years ago … it was very much like what you’ve described. Much better. 😉

Leave a Reply

