Sleeping in and The To Do List


Today I got to sleep in.

What a glorious and wonderful thing.

This whole last year has been full of working every weekend day, but that’s all changed now. I’ve changed my schedule so that I get one weekend day off. I had to take on extra hours during the week to do that, but life is full of little trade offs, and this one was worth it.

Not only did I get to sleep until my eyes felt like popping open all by themselves, but now I get to sit in a quiet house and catch up on my blogs. And,  I get to write a post with no interruptions or the boys reading over my shoulder. Now there’s a treat. It’s a little easier to write what I really feel if I don’t have to worry about them walking by and sneaking a peak and making comments.

Aw shoot…I guess I spoke too soon…Older Son just got up, but he’s offering to make coffee, so I guess that’s another one of those little trade offs. Hmm… Coffeeeeee!

This morning is going to be all about The To Do List. Since I’ve taken on extra hours at the Big Box Store, and have stumbled upon my new found amazing social life, my house has really hit the skids. Time to take action, and here’s the plan for today:

Kitchen – (medium bad shape) clean off all flat surfaces of all things accumulated, scrub floors. If time, scrub fridge doors, inside and house, reorganize cupboards and drawers.

Living room -(horrifyingly bad shape) Burn and start again. Nope, too expensive. Dust everything, scrub walls, scrub floors, vacuum rugs, sort bills and papers, reorganize entire room. Hm…maybe it would just be better to burn and start again?

Bathroom – (pretty good shape) Light weekly scrubbing needed only

Entry way – (Not too bad) Sweep and mop floor, reorganize shoes and jackets

My room – (Run away, run away!) Get rid of the last of the things I brought up from the basement during the flood. Sweep floor and vacuum rugs, change sheets, dust everything, organize shelves, organize closet.

Basement (Good grief, what happened to my clean basement?!) Totes need organizing, floors need sweeping, laundry needs catching up with (my poor washer will be smoking and begging for mercy by the end of the day), items need to be put away in my new workspace cupboards.

Outdoors (Uff-da…) Need to have Younger Son finish pulling in the garden, and weed-whack anything that’s over grown. Solar lights need to be put away for the year, and the shed needs to be organized.

I’ve just read over this list, and know that I have my work cut out for me, but so do Older Son and Younger Son -I’ll be keeping them busy today. I’m also aware of this feeling in the pit of my stomach that I’m dying to send a text message to my new man friend. He needs a blog nick name….I’ll have to think on that. I’m seriously aware that we are only friends, but I’ve gotten rather attached to him. Could be that I need to reign that in a little bit…if he wants to be more than friends, I’ll let him let me know. Darned flirty man… makes me want things I shouldn’t want right now. For today, I need to pay attention to my house and spend some extra time with my kids.

I hope you all have much smaller To Do Lists, and a spectacularly restful Sunday.

Editors note: So what happens after I get this posted and get ready to start my day? My phone goes off…it’s The Flirt…texting just saying Good Morning. Life is good…

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

5 Responses to Sleeping in and The To Do List

  1. Hel'wyse says:

    Sleeping in?…now you would think with hubby retired and kids gone, that is no longer a luxery, that it happens simply.
    Well the powers that be lie…LIE to us about retirement. He retires, we keep on working. let’s see, 115% man and alot less salary. Of course, people assume if you are retired you have no car payment, no house payment, no hunger, so food bill is minimal, a house in europe…oh hell, now I shouldn’t do that, at least a second winter home…aren’t all retirees snow birds. I’m here to tell the TRUTH…it ain’t like that Petunia.
    So enjoy yr extra hours….clean kitchen only today…as you drink a bottle of wine and do a load of yr clothes and let boyus do own laundry……sit in sunshine, plan a picnic or KFC…go see yr Mom and hug her for me.
    that’s enough…there’s always another day.

  2. Chip says:

    One day of sleeping in somehow makes 5 days of waking up too early all go away….

  3. dragonfae says:

    Even with two day weekends I rarely get to sleep in for one reason or another. Hope you enjoyed your morning … and didn’t burn yourself out with all the cleaning, Let the boys do most of it. They are younger and can take the abuse. 😉

  4. anjiknut says:

    Would you really do all of that in one day? i need a break just thinking about all of that…

    • Sparrow says:

      Nope….There’s no way I could get that all done. Doesn’t mean it doesn’t need doing, though! I managed to get a few things crossed off the list, so it makes for a lesser to do list during the week.

Leave a Reply

