Pardon me while I stomp on some toes, and smash some tiaras


I found a very interesting editorial at CNN the other day regarding the TLC show “Toddlers and Tiaras. The article talks about how little girls are sexualized as part of the beauty pageant racket, er, system.

So who’s to blame for this?

Some would say that TLC has the lion’s share of the responsibility for this happening to these little girls. Should they televise beauty pageants for small girls? Well, for a channel called The Learning Channel, I think it’s a horrifyingly crappy bid for ratings. There’s nothing to learn from this activity that anyone can benefit from the way it is being televised. One documentary showing how these little girls are treated would have been sufficient. An ongoing series that perpetuates this howlingly mad activity is abusive. Having said all that, I don’t believe they should get the majority of the blame.

The parents are responsible for this travesty, mainly the mothers. Any mother that puts her little bitty kid in a Dolly Parton outfit, complete with a stuffed bra, cakes on the make up and spends hours forcing her little girl to endure practice for a beauty pageant needs to have her head examined.

Yeah, I went there…and I am not finished.

As mothers, we have many duties. As I see it, the first of those duties is to do our best to raise our children to be healthy, happy, well-adjusted human beings. How on God’s green Earth are these little girls supposed to grow up with any sense of self-worth that isn’t tied to some kind of title, crown or prize? And, really, who in their right mind wants to see little girls made up like grown women? Really?

Check this out, and see what I’m talking about:Toddlers & Tiaras – Groovy Girls

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

6 Responses to Pardon me while I stomp on some toes, and smash some tiaras

  1. dragonfae says:

    You go girl! Rant away! Yes, I’m right there with you … this crap is at least as bad as the twit who thinks giving her 8 year old botox treatments to stay young looking is a good idea. I have no clue what the hell is wrong with some of these people.

  2. Hel'wyse says:

    oh, I have seen the program….glad I saw it so I could rant and yell about demented people who do this to their daughters for their owen damn ego…they live thru their child. Now, child will grow up with a skewed view of what real sexuality is…..I also would like to mention men who prey on adolescence girls who look like they stepped out of aimee cartoons…(parents seem to allow this) and some men are so demoralized by a real live good woman who is strong in herself, that they turn to “little sex girls” who have no clue. it is a weird world…and stress brings out so much in people to keep the mental health programs just rolling along….
    let them be children….I really and trully think it is child abuse

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I have never watched that show and never will. Just the promos make it look like the sickest and sleaziest show on television. How that thing ever got on the air is beyond me. Great post Sparrow.

  4. anjiknut says:

    I’ve seen similar programmes. Children need to be children. Grownupland lasts a lot longer. And another thing, I’m old enough to remember when women weren’t expected (allowed) to do much more than be wives and mothers. Has all the hard work of the feminist movements gone down the drain?

Leave a Reply

