Join me in pissing off the terrorists


A little after 7am this morning, I sat for a few minutes before I had to leave for work and watched the beginnings of the 9/11 memorial ceremonies. I watched as Presidents Obama and Bush and their wives walked up to the Ground Zero Memorial and had a moment of silence. It was interesting to me how differently they observed that moment of silence.

The Obamas stood there for a moment looking out over the great hole in the ground and back and forth at all the names surrounding it and, one after another, stepped up and put their hands right on it as if to try to connect with it somehow. I looked at that and realized I would have done the same thing.

The Bushes, looking very stricken, just stood there holding hands. They didn’t need to absorb anything. They got to see more than they ever wanted to at the time of the tragedy. I am so glad that I can’t begin to imagine how that must feel. It was heartbreaking to see.

I try my best to hold to good old-fashioned North Dakota Norwegian stoicism in times like these, but I’ve failed miserably. I’m sitting here in front of my computer with tears leaking out of my eyes, and I’m not quite sure if it’s recalling everything from that day, or if this day is just the last straw that broke this camel’s back. I seem to not be able to hold back the water works, so I’ll just go with it. Perhaps I was over due for a good cry anyway.

Something else that I’ve been thinking about with this tenth anniversary is how different life was back then. I was happily married (at least I thought so), my kids were both in elementary school, and I was only on the 2nd of my many different jobs at the Cube Farm.  I could have got on a plane to go somewhere back then, and nobody would have wanted me to take off my shoes, or taken away my shampoo. Things were simpler all the way around. I’ve heard it said that 9/11 was my generation’s Pearl Harbor. I think that’s right…things won’t ever be the same again after that day.

Recently in the press there have been noises about more terrorist threats against either Washington or New York. Just having to hear that is terrorism enough. Even if the terrorists aren’t really planning anything, all they have to do is let it be known that there’s something in the works and then everyone is in a tizzy. Personally, I don’t think any more attacks are coming. At this point they don’t need to physically attack us anymore, they just have to make us think they will. They believe that they win either way.

Or do they?

I’m reminded of a picture I took at Younger Son’s football game of our Flag flying and how normal it felt to be at the game, enjoying myself and not having a worry in the world for that moment. The terrorists can’t take those moments away from us. I think those are the things we must build on. Striving for normalcy when they can blow something else up at any given moment is the best way we can flaunt our freedom in their faces.

Last year at this time, my blog post was more optimistic than I have felt this year. Having gone back and re-read that post, I am reminded that the little things count, and it’s up to us to take each little precious happy  moment we experience and use it as building block. We each need to build our own tower of happy memories and feelings, for these things can’t be taken from us. Each time we do something normal, just going about our daily lives, we win. Each and every time we exercise our freedom of speech, whether it’s by writing a letter to the editor or by participating in a lively debate, we win. Every woman who wears what she feels like every single day wins. Every time we help someone, say a kind word, or do something to make our little part of our Country a better place to live, we win. Every time we get together with others and have a good time, we win. Bring on those back yard barbeques!

We win because we are still free. We believe in freedom and, as diverse as we are as a population, it’s the one thing that we all agree on. WE ARE FREE. Don’t tread on us, or we’ll let you know how badly mistaken you were to try it. It might take us a while to find you, but we will.

So, how do we ultimately win against terrorists? We do it by doing the most normal things we can: Go to work, have babies, help raise our grand children, tend our gardens, throw parties. We laugh at things that tickle our funny bones.  We do our best to live as though they make no difference. For so many people who were directly affected, that just may not be possible. There are some days when I don’t feel like it’s possible. But I’ll keep trying.

Join me as I do my level best to piss off those who hate our way of life by living my life as though they don’t matter… let freedom ring.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

2 Responses to Join me in pissing off the terrorists

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Amen sister! Amen!! 🙂

  2. FLPatriot says:

    Well said and I will join you in living my life to it’s fullest as a red blooded American. God bless America.

Leave a Reply

