Explosive Expansion


Generally, I have a hard time coming up with something to blog about, but recently I’ve had a topic I’ve been burning to get on the blog: Expansion.

So, you might ask, what about expansion? Well, it seems that we have more than a wee bit of a housing shortage here in Minot. In fact, given the oil industry boom and the disastrous loss of housing from the flood, we have quite a problem.

What’s being done about it? Plenty. It’s astonishing to me how many houses are going up right now, and it’s a little disturbing. Minot is not a large town, or at least it wasn’t. Three years ago we were sitting at somewhere around 36,000 people, plus or minus. As of the 2010 census 40,888 were definitely living here, but a recent housing study gives a higher estimate of approximately 45,000 people living within the city limits. That’s a lot of growth in a short amount of time.

Minot is surrounded by lovely countryside. Given the building boom happening right now, much of that will disappear. This last weekend, I snapped some pictures of areas on the North end of the city where most of the home building is taking place. The picture below is taken from the corner of 16th St and 30th Ave NW, looking in a SW direction. In the distance on the left, you can see some new homes that went up last year, and in the center you can just see my Cube Farm peeking from behind the landscape. With in the next couple of years I predict that this whole place will be filled with homes. This area used to be farmland.

This next picture is still at the same corner of 30th Ave NW, but looking straight West toward the Hwy 83 Bypass. This is still farmland to the North of 30th Ave, but I predict that it won’t stay that way too long. While I understand the need for people to have a place to live, I’m a little sad that my little city is now growing so quickly that the beauty of the surrounding area isbeing obliterated.

There are more places not too far from my Cube Farm where buildings are going up quick. I’ll be taking pictures and posting them here for posterity’s sake, if nothing else.

North Dakota Governor, Art Link, made a famous speech entitled  When the Landscape is Quite Again, which had to do with water/energy resources. In this time of things changing due oil energy resources, I hope that our leaders are paying attention to not only how quickly things are built and put into place, but also how well things are built and put into place.  My fondest wish for my little city is that the dignity and beauty of it and the surrounding landscape can be preserved. I hope the small town feeling doesn’t go away.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

2 Responses to Explosive Expansion

  1. anjiknut says:

    We have the same problem here in France. the farm land is being nibbled away. it’s the fashion to move out of the towns and into new homes in the villages – villages which will soon become an extension of the towns.

    Read and be read ExposeYourBlog!</a

  2. Hel'wyse says:

    it is hard to see devastation everywhere you look…flood and now because of the oil boom, more housing to take the place of what was lost….the boom is what I am worried about….all those houses, wells get used up…everyone moves to follow the dollar and what are you left with….squatter’s paradise. Not my idea of rural small town coziness.
    there is a blessing to a small town….surely eliminates drive by shootings and knifing at club doors because you do not seem to like the color bandana someone is wearing around their forehead…at least those plesanteries get played out in Spokane…and, do not look at the fellow who just passed you on the highway…they maybe carrying a weapon and well, c’mon road rage is road rage…especially if you cannot afford yr daily dose of maryjane.
    I don’t know….I was frantic in Spokane (97 degrees too) and did not relax till we were way out…way out of city confines…..sure, you can get to things offered….but still a 20 minute drive across town….and 3 lane highways with delightfully fun one ways….sure. give me small town life anytime…a hick I will be and love it.

Leave a Reply

