Cliffhangers and aliens that moo


I love a good cliffhanger. I don’t get to watch a lot of  T.V. in recent days, but one show I’ve been making time for is Falling Skies, starring Noah Wylie.  This show is right up my alley given that I am a Science Fiction fan. Without giving too much away, I will say that this show is about the Earth being invaded by aliens and how humans react and survive. One of my favorite things about this show is the “mechs”, or mechanized aliens. They are giant alien machines that stomp about on two legs, mooing as they go. That’s right… mooing alien robots. They are supposed to be menacing and evil, but I can’t help but chuckle every time one of those comes on the scene. This show ended its first season tonight with one humdinger of a cliff hanger, which is how good television ought to be. I’ll be looking forward to season two next summer.

This show is an interesting study of how humans cling together, and fight each other, when disaster happens. I can’t help but wonder what kind of bad things are coming given that there is so much in the news about survivalism. Even NASA has sent an email to their employees with a video link showing one of their administrators asking them to make a preparedness plan for their families. I’m not going to worry too much about it, as having an emergency preparedness plan is a good idea for everyone, but I think it’s interesting that it’s such a hot topic these days.

Preparedness is something that’s really been on my mind a lot lately. I’m terribly unprepared for any emergency, so stocking up on things is on the next order of things to do. I’ve been redoing things in my basement, and a new pantry is one of the things that’s top on the list.  I’ll be taking pictures of that project as I go along, so more on that later.

For right now, the world is safe as there are no mooing evil aliens outside. I guess it’s time to throw a load of laundry in and get some shuteye. Good night all!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

Leave a Reply

