Movie Review: The Green Lantern


So, after several days of all three of us living on top of each other, I finally made a command decision: It’s time to go see a movie, and get out for a while.  We went to see The Green Lantern.

I felt a little dodgy about paying to see this in the theater, as it got some seriously bad reviews. My favorite movie website is Rotten Tomatoes, and the reviewers were pretty merciless when assessing this movie. I usually don’t listen to reviewers because they have a tendency to be stuck-up sticky beaks when it comes to things that I like. However, I’ve learned to listen. I took a bath on the admission price for Skyline, after having waited to long to see it and was bitterly disappointed.  It was just about the only thing playing that we could all agree on, so we went anyway.  I am pleasantly surprised to report that we enjoyed it. And, I’ve figured out why the reviewers hated it so badly.

The Green Lantern was originally a comic book story, and the movie really reflects that. If you’ve ever read a comic book, you know that there isn’t terrible amount of dialog, and much is implied in the pictures. One of the things that people complained about this movie is the lack of terribly meaningful dialog. Well, all the information you need is either stated or shown. The visuals are stunning. It’s a good bit of escapism. I won’t give any of it away, as I think it’s worth going to see for yourself, but I will say it’s a good  one to grab for a matinée. This is nothing that will blow you away and make you feel like you want to run directly back to the theater and see it again, but it’s worth seeing on the big screen.

I’ll give this one a good solid thumbs up!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

2 Responses to Movie Review: The Green Lantern

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Admit it…. You were dying to see Ryan Reynolds in tights….. We all know the truth….. 🙂

Leave a Reply

