Birthdays are good things


Today is a special day. My Sister-by-Choice, Brea, is celebrating her birthday.

Birthdays are magical, but not necessarily in the usual way of cake and gifts. Birthdays are similar to New Years Eve in the sense that it marks the end of one year, and the beginning of another. The only thing that’s different, really, is that you are having a New Year’s celebration for one. Many people hate birthdays because it reminds them of how far along they are in age.  I had a brief twinge of that when I turned 40, as half my life is done. Then I had to remember that 40 years is a long time, and I have a lot of road ahead of me.

Birthdays are a darned good opportunity. I like to use my birthday as an excuse to take the week off work and do projects around the house.  On our birthdays, my Mom and I have a standing tradition of shopping all day and lunch. It’s also a good excuse to take my kids out to a movie…only I get to pick it…snicker…

A Birthday, just like every other day, is the first day of the rest of your life, only it’s jam-packed with that special birthday magic. It’s a personal day with your name stamped all over it. It is the jumping off point at the beginning of a new year, and an opportunity for a fresh start.

To my Sister-by-Choice, I wish you a very happy birthday. I hope this coming year brings you much joy, happiness and prosperity. I hope it brings you all the good things you deserve, because you most definitely deserve good things and happiness. I hope you find comfort, good companionship and relief from the stress of this last year. I hope you have a wonderful day. I love you…HUGS!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

3 Responses to Birthdays are good things

  1. Brea says:

    Aw, thanks so much, Sparrow! It has been a really nice day with my two youngers. A little shopping, and soon, a little Happy Joes pizza (my FAVORITE), and a movie at home. Quiet, calm, and NO DRAMA. Absolutely perfect.

  2. Don says:

    Happy Birthday Brea!! And many more!!

  3. aimee says:

    I like the way you think (about birthdays) and I love the way Brea celebrates…Happy Joes Pizza pops up in my dreams on a regular basis…oh how I miss that stuff!

Leave a Reply

