A blessing in strange packaging


I’ve lived in my crappy little fixer-upper of a house for the last eleven years, and I’ve never really liked it. It was supposed to be a starter house, on the way to something bigger and better. Well, here we are all these years later and there’s really no sign that we’ll be “moving on up” any time soon.  Some improvements have been made, but this little house is just tired. It’s old and definitely feeling its years. Who’d have thought that it would be a blessing in disguise?

My Dad always told me there are three things to consider when choosing a home: 1. Location, 2. Location, and 3. Location.

When we originally bought this house, its most outstanding feature was that it fit into the budget. It’s a tiny little house, and it came with a manageable monthly mortgage payment. The location didn’t appear to be that great because there is a busy highway in the front, and on the other side of that, not 100 ft from my front door, is a rail road track. It’s a loud, dusty place to live. But, it was what we could afford and as long as it keeps the rain and cold out that’s the most important thing.

I live in Minot, North Dakota, and my beautiful city is flooding. Due to more days of rain than we could deal with, and the ground already saturated with water, the Mouse River (a.k.a. Souris River) has risen past the flood stage of 1549 ft, and could possibly rise to 1558 ft, which will engulf much of the valley.  Almost everyone that lives in the portion of the city located in the valley has been ordered to evacuate immediately. People are having to move the contents of their homes, and are expected to have to stay away possibly for weeks.  Right now the City is building emergency secondary dikes to save infrastructure like lift stations, and schools, etc.  My heart goes out to them…I desperately hope that their homes are salvageable after all is said and done.

Here’s my good news. My crappy little fixer-upper is located very close to where the snow plows are kept, so we are always one of the first areas to have clean streets to drive on after a blizzard. Something else I didn’t realize when I signed on the mortgage dotted-line is that the train tracks across the road from my front door is what’s keeping our butts from getting flooded. That’s a pretty important feature of my location which may just cause me to learn to love the train.  The only thing we have to worry about is the possibility of the sewer backing up into our basement. I have all my basement drains plugged, but you never know. So far, so good…all we can do now is just wait. I’m feeling blessed by living in this little house. Fixer-upper it might be, but perhaps it’s not so crappy any more…turns out my location is pretty darned good as things stand today.

The Mouse River is supposed to crest by Thursday or Friday, and then start to go back down again this weekend. We are expecting good weather, with the exception of thunder storms projected for Thursday night. With any luck, that storm system will miss us all together, and then the river can get on with the business of shrinking back into its banks.

Below I’ve posted some useful links for those of you who might be from this area, or have relatives in this area:

City of Minot Website 

Minot Flood Evacuation Map

Ward County Website

KX13 News

Good luck to everyone who’s in the affected area…here’s hoping the Mouse River doesn’t get as high as the Army Corps of Engineers is predicting.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

5 Responses to A blessing in strange packaging

  1. Brea says:

    My friend, I get the feeling that the Corp of Engineers aren’t telling us the whole story, they didn’t in Bismarck. But… at least the news stations and such ARE. Watching the news tonight, I was heartened by the fact that the Jim O. was just as openly perturbed by the conflicting information as anyone else who lives in our city would be. He even admitted – ON CAMERA – (LOL) that he was “obviously frustrated”!

    Here’s to the days of sunshine and warm weather predicted… may they be LONG and DRY. *sigh*

    • Sparrow says:

      Brea, I think you are right…the Corps of Engineers isn’t telling the whole story. I’ve been keeping tabs on KX news via Facebook live feed, and I’m sure glad they are asking tough questions and pushing back on what the Corps says. Luckily the river has dropped a little over night, and again this morning. With any luck, we’ll see that trend continue.

      It was so nice to wake up to sunshine today. I’ll take that as an omen of good luck!

  2. dragonfae says:

    Oh my … do stay safe! (and dry if you can manage) I know we all have down-sides to wherever we live (here in LALA land it’s earthquakes, fires, and mudslides) but the flooding and tornadoes this year have just been horrendous. Hoping the flood is over soon. *hugs*

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Stay safe Sparrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

