You have all the weapons you need…now fight!


I just got home from taking the boys to see Sucker Punch.

When I asked the boys what they thought about it, Younger Son said: “Hot girls with weapons. What’s not to like?”  I asked Older Son what he thought, and he indicated that it was “pretty good”, but that was only because there are hot girls with weapons. This is what I get for asking teenage boys what they think about a movie with hot girls kicking ass like hot knives through butter. Not only that, but there was lots of good explosions and other interesting special effects.

What did I think about it? It was a different movie, very existential and layered with symbolism; a story that is actually stacked about three stories deep, almost an Inception style concept. My favorite part of the movie was this recurring phrase: “You have all the weapons you need…now fight!” I like this theme. I like it a lot.

Another theme that ran through this movie was that you never know when help will arrive, or what form it will take. You must keep your eyes open and think on your feet.

I don’t know that it was worth paying theater rates, but it would definitely be a good rental. While this movie displays a lot of violence and cruelty, it also has an interesting undercurrent of empowerment in the face of adversity…albeit in a cheese-tastic sort of way. And, while I tend to be a lover of happy endings, this one had a mixed ending. I won’t spoil it for you, but I will say that it’s not going to be the ending you think it might be…or should be. It’s certainly not the ending I would have chosen, but it did work.

I’ll give this movie one big thumb up, out of a possible two. Good movie, but not worth the theater charges. Make this one a rental.

 

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

9 Responses to You have all the weapons you need…now fight!

  1. James says:

    I googled the quote after watching Sucker Punch and lead me to this page. I agree with the Inception concept. I had to watch it twice. The soundtrack and visuals were amazing and different. The story on the other hand had me slightly confused, thus the double watch. Also the ending which I won’t speak of since I might spoil it. Wasn’t what I was expecting at all. Anyways, Good movie. I’d buy it on blu-ray when it comes out. Oh and hello 🙂

    • sparrow1969 says:

      Hello James!
      Though yours is the only comment by someone who googled Sucker Punch, I have had more people hit my blog because of that quote than any other topic. I glad to hear I’m not the only one that found it interesting.

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    This explains why the kid wants to see it so bad…. 🙂

    • sparrow1969 says:

      LOL…no kidding, Mark. I kept asking my boys what else they liked about the movie besides the girls, and I didn’t get much other than that. I’ll be interested to hear what you have to say about it. Seriously, though, as interesting as it is, it’s not worth the high prices you’d pay at the theater. Wait for it to come out on DVD.

  3. I’m curious- were you surprised by your boys answers? Because I don’t think they will change for the next hundred years! 🙂

  4. Mo says:

    Um… the movie kind of worried me, but I loved the special effects and imagination.

  5. Ha, also stumbled on this while Googling the quote. I’m 59, fairly biased in favor of Zak Snyder movies, and a bit of a pop-geek. I loved Sucker Punch. Certainly agree that it is multilayerd (sic) and filled with, for lack of a better phrase, sucker punches. For example, was the movie really violent? Yes, and no. There was only one scene with human blood, but they ladies did cut through some steam-powered zombies, no? From the trailer, you would think the movie was playing the sex card, yet their wasn’t any nudity, not cursing for that matter. As you say, I walked away from the movie feeling empowered, strong, inspired. Well written, thoughtful blog post. Good job.

    • Sparrow says:

      Hello Mark,
      I am so sorry that I missed your comment when you first wrote it. I know it’s a little late in coming, but I wanted to thank you for stopping by and for your kind words! I enjoyed your commentary. It’s been so long since I’ve seen the movie, that I think I might rent it and see if I feel the same about it now all of these years later.

Leave a Reply

