Good things


I’ve been having a bit of a rough time recently, having received some news that was less than welcome, so I haven’t had much good to blog about. Today, for some reason, life doesn’t seem quite so dim. So, in the spirit of boosting my attitude even further I’ve been pondering on good things I have observed or experienced recently:

1. I clipped Harley’s nails for the first time this morning and he actually sat still and purred while I did it. I was a little concerned that he might try to claw my face off, but I got lucky. Score!

2. The weather report today says it’s going to get up to 20 degrees today. Finally…a little warmth. But, the good news doesn’t stop there! Apparently the temperature will rise and we’re looking at hitting 40’s next week. 40’s!! It’s about time!

3. I picked up some apples at the store yesterday, and as I am sitting here crunching away on one as I type, I realize this is the first good apple I’ve had in a while.

4. Some time ago, a coworker at The Big Box Store left that job. He was nice and we had a good time flirting back and forth, he liked to tease me that he was going to marry me, even though I told him I won’t ever do that again (seriously, not ever).  He made the effort to come to the store when I was working to let me know he’d left that job, and to let me know where I could find him at his other job.  He genuinely seemed to want to maintain our acquaintance, which was flattering to me, but I chose not to pursue it. In the last month or so, I’ve second guessed myself on that decision, but I recently realized that I just don’t have time for a man, or the complications that come with it. I’m actually really relieved. I made the right decision and I’m happy with it.

5. I was sick for about 4 weeks, and just couldn’t shake it. It finally got so bad that I had to take a day off work from both jobs and go to the doctor. As things stand today, I’m still coughing a bit, but I feel like a million bucks compared to last week. It’s amazing how we take breathing for granted.

6. I started in a new position at my main job (The Cube Farm), and it’s pretty complicated. Yesterday I had a whole bunch of work that I just learned to do QC’d and I passed with flying colors. Whooo!

7. The people I work with at The Cube Farm make working there really great. Not only are they smart and nice, but they are drop dead funny. I like that I can go to work and have a good time every day.

8. I’m feeling empowered by the fact that we have a lot of jobs that need filling in the area. I’ve had my fill of the shenanigans at The Big Box Store, and think I will spend some time looking for a new 2nd job. Not only might I find better pay, but I’m willing to bet that I will find less administrative baloney as well. The Big Box Store has got nine levels of hell management to deal with, and they have a hard time communicating. Working there has got it’s perks, and the people are nice for the most part, but working there can be a little like trying to surf on quicksand. I won’t miss it.

9.  We’re having Sweet and Sour Chicken for supper. Yum!

10. Older Son is turning 18 this weekend. He’s really turned into a nice young man, and I’m a lucky Mom.

What’s good in your life today?

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

One Response to Good things

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Sorry you have been under the weather for so long. I cannot imagine how the 40’s would seem warm…. ha ha Pretty sad when your first child hits 18….. I remember that well. Seems like you are maintaining a great attitude. Have a great day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

