Bummers are always tempered by blessings…


…that is, if you dig hard enough.

I have had the week off, and had many plans for home improvement and catching up on housework. Generally, I get more done while I am home alone than I do with the boys here. This week, I have been sick for the third week in a row with this blasted head cold that’s been going around. The good news here is that I have had a LOT of sleep, and while I’ve not been productive AT ALL, I will probably heal up all the faster for having  just laid around like a slug. I can tell you that being a slug has helped me catch up with my blogs in the last few days, so there’s a blessing.

As my faithful readers have witnessed, my new kitty, Harley, can be a little bit of a challenge sometimes. This morning, however, he was all about snuggling. I’d forgotten how fabulous it is to hold a purring cat. I’ve really enjoyed how affectionate Harley is between playful and grumpy moods. I was just sitting here reading blogs while holding a loudly purring Harley, and smelled something horrible through the one nostril that’s functioning today. I thought for sure that one of the boys had left dirty socks lying around, but I could find nothing. I even smelled myself and I appear to be fairly clean smelling. I smelled the cat and he didn’t smell bad. I searched around the living room, but couldn’t find any source of the odor. Where the heck was it coming from? I gave up my search for the stink, picked Harley up again and went back to my blog reading.  Pretty soon, there’s the smell again. And then, I realized…Harley appears to have some issues with flatulence. That’s right. Not only is my cat perverted and naughty, but now he gets his jollies by expelling  Silent-But-Deadlies. What’s the blessing here? Apparently, nothing has crawled under my couch and died.  Even so, note to self: Don’t squeeze the cat today.

The Old Farmer’s Almanac gives predictions of what kind of weather we’re supposed to have. The prediction for Region 12-The High Plains, has been right on the money so far this year. For February 19th-28th is says: “Snowy periods, then sunny, cold.”  Sigh. Yep, that’s exactly what we’re experiencing. Today we have -25 with the windchill.  The good news here is that my friend, The Old Farmer’s Almanac, hasn’t lied to me yet. I will take that as a blessing because it tells me that March is supposed to be much milder, and I’m looking forward to that.

The last bummer I have for the day is that I have several boxes I need to go through in my basement. The blessing that tempers this bummer is that most of  that chore is done, and there are only about 10 boxes left. I’m betting that I will be able to throw, sell or give away most of what’s in those boxes, leaving me with very little I need to keep. Most of the items I will keep are things that belonged to my children as infants, and I will pass that on to them when they have their own kids…thereby leaving me with even MORE storage space. Yes!

Finally, the biggest blessing I own right now is the pot of chicken and wild rice soup that bubbling away on my stove top. Time for me to go grab a bowl and let that most delicious steam from the soup unclog my head while I eat it. I hope you all have such a blessed day!

 

 

 

 

 

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

4 Responses to Bummers are always tempered by blessings…

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Cat farts are the worst! Just slightly better than fish farts and gerbil farts! Stick a cork in him! 🙂 Have a great day!

  2. Aimee says:

    I read blah blah blah -25 degrees! Holy Frozen Shit Batman!

Leave a Reply

