The Best Birthday Ever: Part 1 – The Good


Today is my birthday. Usually I don’t say anything about my birthday, but this year it was the best one ever. It’s also been a bit bad, but I’ll elaborate on that in my next post. First, the  good.

I worked at The Big Box Story this morning from 8-Noon, and then went to lunch with Mom & Dad and the boys. When I met up with them, Older Son let me know that one of my oldest best friends called to let me know that she was coming to town, just for my birthday. Mind you, she lives four hours away. She just decided to get up and make the trip with her three boys. We’ll call her Kay. I had a super big amount of stuff to do today, and so I kind of dropped everything to make sure I could spend some time with her since she made the trip. At 2:30, we met at a local bar owned by another friend. We’ll call her Dee. We were sitting here having a nice chat, when ANOTHER old friend came in. We’ll call him Jay.

Kay apparently texted Jay to let him know she was in town and why, and invited him along for the afternoon. We all sat together, reminiscing about old stuff, and talking about new stuff. Topics discussed were all over the map and ranged from alternative views on the Bible to what’s up with our kids. We sat there from 2:30 to about 6:45, and it was a fabulous afternoon.

What struck me was no matter how much time had gone by, and how much things had changed, things still stay the same. I was always the odd duck of the group, and I never could figure out why they would ever hang out with me, but they did, and I’m glad. Jay was always the bawdy one…quick with a naughty joke, but then always had something deep to say later on. Kay was always the one who knew everyone in a tri-state area. She can’t go anywhere without running into several people she knows. Dee, who owns the bar, was her usual sweet self and was a joy to hang around. People really don’t change at their core…not really. Habits can come and go, but people have a kernel of their true selves that never changes. This can be good, and bad. I’ll get to the bad in the next post. And the scary.

For now, since I blew off all the work around the house I needed to do today, I need to get going on that. I have company coming tomorrow for a few hours, and haven’t had the time to get the house “company ready”. Uff-da…too much to do before I go to bed tonight, but it was worth it. I’d definitely do it again. Spending time with these people for four hours was definitely worth it.  There were a few people missing who I’d have liked to visit with, but still – It was truly the Best Birthday Ever! I am reminded again, that work and home is not all there to life.

How old am I, you wonder? I’m 42, and not shy about admitting it. I’ll revel in it, and think I’ll do like my Granny does. She’s officially 87, but insists that she’s 79 and holding. 😉

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

11 Responses to The Best Birthday Ever: Part 1 – The Good

  1. huntress1231 says:

    Aaaawwww, Happy Birthday! Too bad I didn’t know sooner…I’d have baked you a cake!! See you tomorrow!

  2. Aimee says:

    Happy Belated Birthday….the suspense is killing me (part 2) and I snorted at your uffda…haven’t heard that in forever!

  3. That sounds like a great birthday. Isn’t it the best when you just hang forever with friends?

  4. Hel'wyse says:

    .wish I could have been there m’deare and sometime in the future that will happen……miss all of you very much….the winds of change are changing but our hearte when filled with the acknowledgement of friendship fro someone we love and respect…that never changes

    • sparrow1969 says:

      I miss you too Hel’wyse. It’s my fondest wish to get out your way again. Some day…probably not this year, but once I can quit this second job. With any luck that will be in the next year or so.

  5. The Compulsive Writer says:

    Happy belated birthday! Hope you have a birthday weekend… don’t you love those?

  6. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    So glad you had a great Birthday! Happy 42!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

