Old Man Winter isn’t done with us yet


We were spoiled for a while, having temperatures in the 40’s for over a week. The snow melted some, and the roads were cleared off. It was glorious to walk outside with the sun on our faces and feel like Spring was just around the corner.

And then, not.

I should have known better. It didn’t quite smell like Spring, even though it looked like it.

Yesterday Old Man Winter woke from his nap and realized he’d been falling down on the job. Now the cold is back and storms are all around us. Luckily we haven’t had it too bad where I live, but others are getting pounded. Here is where I find my blessing for today…I don’t have to dig out to go to work today.

In North Dakota, we essentially have two seasons: Winter and Construction. When the weather is warm enough, people are building and fixing things. With our booming economy, they are still building even though the weather is so cold. I hope someone gives the construction workers the day off today. Wind chills of -20 and lower would seem to warrant a day off from outside work, right?

Right?!

Here’s to hoping that Old Man Winter gets sleepy again soon and forgets that he has things to do…!

 

 

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

7 Responses to Old Man Winter isn’t done with us yet

  1. wow a booming economy, i haven’t seen many people writing about that. i’ve enjoyed looking around your blog and am also looking forward to doing some gardening. i live in missouri now and its getting close to being able to put in some spring beds (lettuce, spinach, kale, chard). i wasn’t buying the warm spell as the approach of spring but at least down here it is full on pre-spring. thanks for posting.

    • sparrow1969 says:

      Hi Mike,

      Yes, our economy is booming. Apparently North Dakota is sitting on the largest part of a huge oil supply that they’ve just now figured out how to access. Success is a good thing, but it’s a double edged sword, as in the case of most things. More on that in a later post.

      I’m glad to hear that you are close to actual Spring. That gives me a little more hope that the nice weather will come for good up here. I haven’t spinach is something I’m thinking about planting this year. I love it raw for salads.

      Thanks so much for dropping by and for your comment!

      • I got out quite a bit and there were some definite elements of spring, i even grilled out in the afternoon (i would feel bad about mentioning it but when it starts getting hot and humid and miserable in like April or I get mobbed again by a hoard of seed ticks I’ll remember you gotta take the bad with the good). The pine cones were opening up in the sunlight making little popping noises and dropping out of the sky. Some daffodils were spearing up, some trees are starting to bud, but like you mentioned it didn’t really smell like spring. colder weather is indeed coming. thanks for checking out my blog.

  2. Aimee says:

    Darn that old man winter….our last year living in MPLS we had snow flurries on MOTHER’S DAY – didn’t stick of course but still…We were living in Ft Myers by that time the next year – I had HAD it!

    Stay warm!

    • sparrow1969 says:

      Oh Aimee! Flurries on Mother’s Day? That’s just criminal. Speaking of criminal… that darned ground hog supposedly predicted early Spring. I think he’s a lying rat…

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Winter? It was 80 here on Sunday….. (Don’t hit me!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

