Noises parents make come in handy for other things


Did you ever notice that once you become a parent you begin to make all sorts of sounds you didn’t know you could make? They come from the depths of your gut unbidden, but forced out in an effort to cause the behavior your child is displaying to cease immediately. They are obnoxious noises, and all parents and children recognize them when they hear them. I think we are genetically programmed to make these sounds because sometimes words just don’t get the message across in a timely manner.

“Ah, ah, ah!” Now there’s a classic. However, I think my favorite is the one that sounds like the bad news honk on a game show: “ENNHHHK!”  I guarantee you that I never voluntarily made this sound until I had kids that became mobile. It bubbled up from the depths of my being  just in time to keep Older Son from jamming a toy into an electric socket one day. And, it worked.

Fast forward 17 years later, and I still find that sound popping out of my mouth. It hasn’t happened as often in recent years, but I found it popping out this morning.

Time: O’Dark-Thirty.

Place: My bed

I’m laying in the dark having a very strange dream about this guy I used to work with at The Big Box Store (more on that in another post), and my alarm goes off. Enter Harley, my perverted kitty.  Just as I have freshly beaten my snooze button into submission for the second time, he jumped up on the bed,  cuddled up to my neck and purred loudly.

Now, I am a sucker for a cuddly, purring cat, but given Harley’s recent perverted proclivities I was instantly on my guard. Sure as the sun rises every day, he got up and made a motion as though to assume his favorite position. Without even thinking about it, The Sound burst forth from my lips. To my astonishment, he quit. He just gave it up and lay down, never missing a beat with the purring.

Hm…apparently that sound works for other things too. Perhaps I should use it on the pervert who cruises my Toy Department?

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

4 Responses to Noises parents make come in handy for other things

  1. The sound I make is onomatopoeic-like, except that there are no letters that can approximate the day my daughter brought a skunk into the house.

    • sparrow1969 says:

      Oh my god! I can’t imagine what kind of sound would pop out of my mouth if someone brought a skunk into my house!!! I’m sure it would be one in a million, though!

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I tried that sound out on my wife while she was sleeping. She hid my pill bottle the next day….. 🙂

Leave a Reply

