On working in the Toy Department


As my eleven faithful readers may recall, I work in the Toy Department of our local Big Box Store. When I got hired, I didn’t realize that I would enjoy it as much as I do. Not only does it get me out of the house a couple evenings a week, but I get to run into people I haven’t seen in a while.

Oddly enough, the toy department is a complex place to work. I guarantee you that toy departments were not this big when I was a kid. I can’t believe all the stuff that people buy for their children these days. A good bunch of the toys these days are just plain junk, but there are some real gems. The Fisher Price Little People have been upgraded to have arms and real faces now, and the new Lego sets are really fascinating. On the down side, there are a lot of creepy dolls. One of my favorite singers, Jonathan Coulton, has something to say about the creepy dolls:

I’ve found some interesting things lying around my department. One time I found chicken bones laying in small deposits all around, on shelves about knee-high from the floor. Someone had apparently given their kid something to eat from the deli as they were going through the isles, and didn’t bother to make sure their kid threw the bones away. I find a lot of half-drunk coffee too. I can’t imagine paying for a coffee and just leaving half of it hidden amongst stuff on a shelf!

We also find the remains of many a theft. Oddly enough, it’s mostly cheap stuff  people steal – items under $10. Word has it that most people who get caught shoplifting at The Big Box Store are people who have enough money that they don’t need to. Apparently their lives are so boring they turn to petty theft for their thrills. I can’t say that I wish my life were that boring, but I can say that I can think up some more interesting pursuits than shoplifting.

What is really interesting to me is how many adult men frequent the toy department just for themselves. Two guys in their 30’s asked me if they could help me unpack the boxes of new Matchbox cars that were waiting to be put on the shelf. They had already been through what we had for Hot Wheels and had a good pile ready to buy, and they were anxious to see what was hot off the presses for Matchbox. I opened the boxes, and they even insisted on helping me put them away. Not all of the guys who shop  in the Toy Department are nice like that, but most are.

It’s hard not to buy things sometimes. Most of the toys I sell are too young for my kids, but there are some I know they might like. I’ve got my eye on a pair of remote control trucks, but I’m waiting to see if they go on sale. I did buy one toy, though. There was this little blue Googly toy that looks a lot like Bob from Monsters vs. Aliens, only my Bob has wild hair and a green tongue that hangs out. Poor Bob was the last of the Googly toys left over from Christmas, and he had been left lying around by kids several times, as well has having been dragged under carts. He even has a bad case of road rash on his tongue.  I picked him up for the umpteenth time one day and realized that there wasn’t a spot on the shelf for him any more. So, I bought him and took him to my desk at my full-time job. He’s kind of squishy and is good for stress relief…you could say he’s kind of my personal minion.

So, that’s the story about Job #2. So far so good…I guess I’ll let them keep me for a while longer.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

9 Responses to On working in the Toy Department

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    I think working in the toy department is a great fit for you! If I was to work for that retailer, Toys is where I would want to work. 🙂 My son and I used to collect Nascar cars….we would have been helping you open the boxes too…. 🙂

  2. Dirty Butter says:

    WOW! I can really relate to this post. We run a free Search Service online to help people find toys from their own childhood, as well as replacements and backups for their child’s toy. And we sell like new used lovies, too. So we get to hear all the sad stories and rejoice with them when one is found. And we get to enjoy finding all the lovies that we buy for resale.

    Working with toys is the perfect job!!

    I follow you on ExposeYourBlog.

    • sparrow1969 says:

      That’s really cool, Dirty Butter. I actually run into people who are looking for toys for their children like they had, Lionel trains being one of those items. The Big Box Store just doesn’t carry much in the way of traditional toys, with the exception of Lincoln Logs and creepy dolls.

  3. anjiknut says:

    I’d like to bet that on the whole the children behave better than the adults.

    I loved shopping for toys with my children, pretend makeup has always fascinated me.

    I found your blog on ExposeYourBlog!

    • sparrow1969 says:

      I wouldn’t bet against you Anji…you’re right. Sometimes the kids do behave better than the adults. However, I’ve found the worst behaved group of all is teenage girls.

  4. cube says:

    Many adults buy toys for themselves. I have assorted Star Trek items on my desk as I write, although I wouldn’t mind a Googly Bob as well.

  5. Dirty Butter says:

    I still have my Lionel train set, carefully packed away. It’s been something like 15 years since it’s been set up and run, but my Daddy oiled everything and packed it away very carefully. Collecting these vintage cars and engines is a rich man’s hobby now.

  6. krista says:

    We have that same bob toy at our store!!! i love him! we work at a very well known retailer who specializes in lotions and candles and we have him sitting up by our cash register with a big pink bow wrapped around him! he’s so cute…we named him joe bob!

Leave a Reply

