The only tv show my family agrees on


I have fond memories of sitting around the living room with my whole family watching our favorite shows when I was a kid. It was easy back then as the shows were good and there were so few of them that it was an event to sit down to your favorites. Some of my favorites were the Flip Wilson Show (yes, I’m that old), Happy Days and Mash. Oh, and lets not forget classics like Mork & Mindy, and Taxi.

These days, it’s a little harder to find programing that the whole family can sit down to watch. Not only do we all have different taste in television programming, but there’s just not much on these days that’s terribly good for family viewing. There’s so much garbage on tv these days. If it isn’t provoked drama (“reality” shows), it’s sex and other things that aren’t appropriate for viewers of all ages.

So, I finally found a show that we can all watch together: Wipeout. Or, in the case of this season, Winter Wipeout. This show can be found on your local ABC channel, and is funny the same way America’s Funniest Videos is. Where AFV is all about people catching each other and their pets doing silly things, Wipeout is a about people trying to get through several levels of an obstacle course. It’s modeled after MXC which originated in Japan, but Wipeout is a little more family friendly.

I don’t know where they get the contestants for Wipeout, but they are all pretty good sports. Very silly people, but good sports nonetheless. And they are terribly unbreakable. It’s astonishing to me how these folks can take such a beating and still keep going. Here is a good example from an earlier season:

There’s lots of silliness to be had,

and lots, and LOTS of mud:

I am not sure why I find this show so funny, but I do. Even better, it’s something the three of us have in common, and we can all laugh together about. The nice thing about this show is simple humor that perks me up at the end of a long day. These clips aren’t near as funny as watching a whole show, as they generally have a theme. There’s a lot more on You Tube…give it a whirl if you’re looking for some cheap laughs.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

9 Responses to The only tv show my family agrees on

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    We are Television soul mates! I loved all those old shows you named. You would probably die if you saw my TV Show DVD collection that takes up an entire bookcase in our house. It is full of classic shows from the 70’s and 80’s. I hate most current TV and spend a lot of time watching the great classics on DVD at night after everyone is asleep. Have a great evening Sparrow! 🙂

  2. Karen says:

    Mork and Mindy….oh man…I loved that show…I still try to catch I Love Lucy and once in awhile TCM will run Dagwood and Blondie movies…I used to watch every Saturday morning in Great Falls before kids got up just to see how the house was decorated…….oh yeah good simple comedies instead Bridezillas….(does anyone wonder who raised those byctches on that program?)

    • sparrow1969 says:

      OMG…Bridezilla is a disaster. I can’t believe anyone would seriously keep up with a show like that. You’re right…I have to wonder how these women were raised, acting like they do. Uff da!

  3. Brea says:

    MASH.. omg loved it! I don’t get to watch it anymore, though, as OtherHalf can’t stand it. My family used to sit down and watch the shows Dad wanted to watch, like Hill Street Blues, and St. Elsewhere. Cops and hospitals were big favorites at my house. As well as westerns. If there was a John Wayne movie on, Dad would force me to sit with him and watch it. Mom would find “something else” to do in another room. ANYTHING else.

    We do have a few shows that we watch as a family, here. Mostly centered around either sci-fi or fantasy. But I’d have to say that the all-time winner for us was Gilmore Girls. I’m going to work on collecting the seasons on DVD. The world actually was shut out on the nights when that show was on. Phones were ignored or shut off, and people knew they weren’t allowed over on “family night”. Ah, I still get a tear in my eye when I remember that they cancelled it…. *sob*

  4. Dirty Butter says:

    We’ve seen pieces of the show, but I don’t think we’ve ever watched the whole thing. We don’t like it that much. I like Minute to Win It better. But there’s no doubt that it’s harder to find ANYTHING on TV that is family friendly and still interesting to a variety of ages.

    I’m old enough to remember when I was the first one among my friends to get a TV. Everybody would come over in the afternoon to watch The Lone Ranger and EVERYTHING was family friendly!!

    Want more blog traffic? Check out ExposeYourBlog.

  5. Cherelynn says:

    I love this photo-of if that cat could talk!

Leave a Reply

