Winter weather blessings come in strange packaging


Yes, that’s right. There are even blessings to be found in the depths of winter. What’s today’s blessing? You’d be surprised.

I heard on the news this morning that the windchill in Winnipeg, Manitoba will be -49 today. You didn’t read that wrong. It’s that cold. Winnipeg is a neighbor of sorts…about a five hour drive from my house. Here it will only be -20 below with the windchill. It’s a small blessing, but a blessing none the less.

Another blessing I ran into yesterday was a fabulously good deal on a sturdy new winter coat. My old coat was starting to resemble Swiss cheese. The pockets were full of holes, and the zipper lost the little tab so trying to get it zipped up was quite a chore. So, now I have a spiffy new coat, and I’ll be warmer for it.

Even better, we are half-way through January. I’m gunning for March, when I can plant the seeds which will be the start to my garden. I’ve been giving some thoughts to starting my herbs in pots that I will just transfer outside. Oh…just thinking about it makes me feel warmer already!

Next you will see posts here about garden plans. Stay warm everyone!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

6 Responses to Winter weather blessings come in strange packaging

  1. I guess you feel no sympathy when I whine about having to actually put on long pants huh? 🙂 Sorry….. I cannot imagine living in that kind of cold! I imagine I would quickly be known around town as the “Shorts Wearing Idiot” that is pushing a cart through Wal-Mart in gym shorts when it is -20 outside. 🙂

    • sparrow1969 says:

      You wouldn’t be alone, Mark. You wouldn’t believe how little people wear in the cold up here. Just this morning, I walked to across the parking lot at work this morning with a woman who doesn’t wear a jacket. She insisted she wasn’t cold at all. I just can’t take the cold anymore. My blood must be getting thin!

  2. anjiknut says:

    This is the second looking forward post I’ve seen in a row. I think we’re all champing at the bit now. I hope that your new coat works well against -20.

    I found your blog on ExposeYourBlog!

  3. Dirty Butter says:

    It’s beyond my imagination to live where it’s that cold. But I bet my hubby would love it. He never even wears a sweater outside here all winter here in Alabama, with short sleeves no less. I’m bundled up like I’m going into a deep freeze. So I chuckled when you described the lady in the parking lot. Stay warm and Spring will be here soon.

    I follow you on ExposeYourBlog.

  4. Brea says:

    Oh, I can’t wait till the green starts showing….! Love the new look on the background – I put some green on mine too, wishful makeupping, I guess.

    I’m thinking maybe I’m going to start some sage pots, to be transplanted with my chamomile under my window later… Time to get started, looking forward, pushing ahead. Thanks for the nudge, my friend!

Leave a Reply

