My non-resolutions for 2011


I’ve been putting off posting anything for a while now because every time I sit down to write, somehow everything kind of evaporates into thin air like fog with the rising sun. I had  nice relaxing weekend, which included a 4-hour nap (that’s right – 4 HOURS!) on Saturday, and two nice long nights of sleep. I felt so much better this morning and now actually feel like my words aren’t dripping away through the crevices and cracks in my brain. What I learned this weekend is that in order to be a better blogger, I need to be a slug. I’m going to tuck that little bit of wisdom away for the next time I can’t think of a thing to write about. Nap time!

I hope all of you had a fabulous New Years, and that you got to celebrate the coming of the new year in whatever way made you happiest. I worked at the Big Box Store until 10:30, then came home and stayed up until Midnight. I was so proud of myself, because I didn’t think I was going to make it. I played games on-line, caught up on my backlog of pod-casts and chatted with the boys. At some point, I happened to see out of the corner of my eye that it was 12:10 am, so I wished the boys a Happy New Year and shooed everyone off to bed. It’s tough getting old. I remember when I couldn’t go to sleep before 1 or 2am!

For some reason, I had a hard time getting up any real enthusiasm for New Years this time around, and I wasn’t the only one. Older Son asked me the next day what all the fuss was about because one day didn’t feel any different from the next. I have to wonder if it has something to do with growing up, kind of like finding out that Santa and the Tooth Fairy really don’t exist – it kind of sucks the magic out of life a little bit each time reality becomes a little more clear to you.

I remember when I was 10, and the year was about to change over to 1980. It was amazing to me to contemplate the changing of the year, and that I would never, ever, put another date down that had anything to do with the ’70’s. There was a feeling of newness and strangeness that was so incredible to me that I remember it well all these years later.

I have been reading many blogs about people making resolutions for this new year. I’m terrible at keeping promises to myself, and therefore gave up making new years resolutions a long time ago. I do think that I am going to change the way I think a little bit, and instead of making resolutions which have more to do with things outside of myself,  I am going to turn my focus inward a little.

I think about the 10-year-old girl that I was, who marveled at things and who recognized the magic in the small things in life, and I see that I have lost her amongst the detritus of day-to-day living, kind of  like a beloved possession buried under boxes and blankets in an attic…forgotten for not having been seen for so many years. She peeks out every now and again, but I would like her back front and center. There are more days than not I would guess her council would be worth while:  don’t worry so much, play more, sleep when you’re tired, eat when you’re hungry, spend time with your friends, get out in the sunshine and watch the clouds fly by.

While one can’t necessarily behave like a 10-year-old, one certainly can take a step back and stop being busy in your head long enough to contemplate things on a simpler level and quit worrying so much about all the gray areas. After all is said and done, I think those gray areas mostly take care of themselves in the end anyway.

So, if I were a resolution-making kind of gal, my list would probably go something like this:

1. Live simpler

2. Love more

3. Smile whenever possible

4. Don’t sweat the small stuff

5. Don’t borrow trouble worrying about what might happen – spend more time enjoying the moments you have now.

Sticking to these five items is a lot harder than it looks, but it was easier for that girl that I was. It’s my mission this year to get in touch with my inner 10-year-old. In all fairness of disclosure, I was a complete pain in the ass at the age of 10, just ask my Mom. I’m going to not get in touch with that part…just the happy-go-lucky part. Stay tuned, it could be that I might need an exorcist by the end of the year   😉

I want to thank you all for coming along with me on this experiment I call a blog, and for sharing your kind words and humor. I look forward to getting to know you all better in the coming year, and I hope this new year brings you all much happiness, good health and prosperity. Just for you, here is one of my favorite Irish Blessings:

May you have warm words on a cold evening,
A full moon on a dark night,
And the road downhill all the way to your door.

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

6 Responses to My non-resolutions for 2011

  1. Karen says:

    my goals for new yeare?,,,be healthier…eat healthier…do one creative thing…large or small…everyday.

    perhaps in being creative again I will find my 10 yr old girl that I lost so long ago

    maybe she will come back, but in reality, no……so much over the wall so to say.

    • sparrow1969 says:

      Never say never Karen! I bet it won’t take much to jump start your inner child. Who cares what has gone over the wall? It’s gone, but the girl never left. The hard part is getting her to stick around for a while once she peeks her head out.

  2. Sank says:

    Excellent advice. Simpe stuff that’s harder to stick too than a diet I’m sure.

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    That is an awesome list! Best list I have seen yet! Have a great year Sparrow! You’re gonna find the Happy-go-lucky girl….. No exorcist will be needed!

  4. sparrow1969 says:

    Thank you for your kind words Mark. I want you to know that the picture of you having just come out of the lake cold lake with that wicked great grin on your face was a large part of the inspiration behind my wanting to revive my inner child. I think I’m going to print out that picture of you to remind me to do some random fun stuff just so I can have a wicked great grin like yours!!

Leave a Reply

