Your friendly neighborhood flasher, and her new HDTV.


My eleven faithful readers have read all about how I had new windows installed recently. What you haven’t heard me talk about is my new curtains, which is because I don’t have them yet. Well, most of them.

I do have new curtains for my room, but they aren’t up yet. I have some really pretty sheers up, but I just haven’t gotten around to getting the new curtains up yet. As it happens, my bedroom window faces a heavily traveled highway, so I have been getting dressed in the bathroom since the curtains aren’t up yet.

While it’s not unusual to hear people honking their horns outside my house, due to an intersection across from my driveway,  it’s not terribly frequent in the morning hours. The other morning, there was a lot of honking going on, and I couldn’t for the life of me figure out why there was so much honking. Later in the day, I was thinking about when I could make time to put up my new curtains. One thought rolled into another, and another, and then I realized I couldn’t remember taking my clothes to the bathroom to get dressed.

Oh…My…God…(Sound effect: palm hitting forehead)

Apparently  I was in such a hurry that morning I ran back into my bedroom, threw off my robe and got dressed, not thinking about the fact that there were no curtains other than the sheers. In the dark morning, sheers will be very see-though, especially when the room is well-lit with an overhead light. Well, I guess some people had a surprise during their morning commute! I really need to make time to put up those curtains tonight!

In other news, I got talked into buying a new TV. We got some money for Christmas, and our TV was needing to be replaced. While we could have limped along nicely until our tax refund comes back early next year, we ran into a good deal and the boys are smooth talkers.  As I speak, Older Son and Younger Son are communing harmoniously while putting up the new HDTV, and it’s a good sound. I rarely hear them making happy, getting-along sounds together, so this is music to my ears. I’m betting the movie we watch after the new TV is set up will take my mind off of the fact that I flashed about 30 cars the other morning. We’ll be watching Despicable Me. My favorite part of this movie is the Minions, and I’m quite convinced that if I had Minions like these, my life would be just that much more fabulous!

Happy Boxing Day to all!

About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

13 Responses to Your friendly neighborhood flasher, and her new HDTV.

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Sparrow….my dear….I am starting to rub off on you!……welcome to my world!…….. 🙂

  2. sparrow1969 says:

    LOL…Oh, so THAT’s what it is!!

  3. Brea says:

    *giggle* and the disco music during the movie didn’t hurt, either, did it?

    I LOVE THAT MOVIE! It’s so FLUFFY! I want a minion for next Christmas… 😉

  4. nice! I’m sure the commuters were happy with a little morning flash! We too bought a new tv, somehow the deal was so good…

    • sparrow1969 says:

      I hear that Jamie…the deal was just toooooo gooood to pass up. Sometimes I begin to have buyer’s remorse for having bought a new TV, and then I look at it, and feel no pain at all!

  5. anjiknut says:

    At least you didn’t cause any crashes. I have two boys, though now just about out of their teens. It is good when they get along.

    • sparrow1969 says:

      Hi Anji…I wish my boys got along more often. I think I had them a little too close together. Being two years apart, you’d think they’d have more in common, but noooo.

  6. Dirty Butter says:

    Oh My Goodness! Bless your heart! Like the going out in public naked dream, but for real! Might as well laugh about it, as there’s sure nothing you can do about it now, except get those curtains up!! Sheers are pretty!

    ExposeYourBlog

    • sparrow1969 says:

      lol, you’re right, Dirty Butter. There’s nothing to do about it now but laugh. The funny thing is that I did get my new curtains up, and they are almost as sheer as the sheers!! I guess that means I have to go curtain shopping soon!

    • sparrow1969 says:

      lol, you’re right, Dirty Butter. There’s nothing to do about it now but laugh. The funny thing is that I did get my new curtains up, and they are almost as sheer as the sheers!! I guess that means I have to go curtain shopping soon!

  7. Aimee says:

    Hysterical! Appears you made several people’s day…the boys and the commuters! A whole new way of looking at pay it forward!

    And just so you know, the wooden roll blinds…yea, same thing as sheer. Learned that the hard way when my husband rounded the corner outside the house while I was standing at the end of the bed with only a towel on my head in our bedroom…turns out he could see everything from the street – including what was on the television at the time. Completely opened my eyes as to why the old man down the street chose to smoke his cigarettes on our corner at night.

    Love your blog!

    • sparrow1969 says:

      Yikes! It’s a good thing you posted about the wooden blinds, as I had been considering those. Thanks for the tip!

      Thanks so much for stopping by Aimee…I love your blog too!

Leave a Reply

