Movie Review – Tron Legacy 3D


Tonight, I took the boys out to see Tron Legacy. Older Son came grudgingly. He didn’t think it would be terribly interesting, but by the time the movie was half over, I looked at him and saw that he was sitting forward in his seat, head on his hand, completely absorbed. I usually have trouble with Younger Son giving me a running commentary throughout a movie, but he was so involved in it that he didn’t utter a peep. Two hours went by like nothing.  It almost goes without saying that the special effects were outstanding…but I have to say that they were more than that. The visuals were absolutely stunning.

The story itself was pretty basic, but the transition from the original movie was smooth enough. It’s not anything terribly cerebral, but it is a good story, and they put a good ending on it.  It appears that they ended the movie just right so they could make a sequel if they chose.

This was definitely worth the money you have to pay to see a movie on the big screen these days, so make sure you see this on the big screen. It will still be a good movie as a DVD or Blue Ray, but you will lose a lot of the impact that the big screen gives this movie.

Here are two trailers, one from the original movie, and one from the new one:


About Sparrow
I am a 47 years young and the mother of two amazing young men, who've grown up and left me mostly an Empty-Nester. I write about what's going on in my little corner of the High Plains, or what happens to be crawling across my brain on a given day. Thank you so much for stopping by. Make yourself at home...through the magic of the internet, the coffee's always free and the doughnuts are fresh!

5 Responses to Movie Review – Tron Legacy 3D

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Thanks for the review. I remember watching the original one in the theater back in the HS days and remember how “High Tech” all the visuals were……. pretty laughable by today’s standards…..but pretty cool for 30 years ago…. 🙂

  2. Thanks for the review.. I will be forwarding this to the nerd heard! 🙂

  3. Dirty Butter says:

    We still have a copy of the original Tron. I loved it, as I’m the geek in the family. Wasn’t so sure a second Tron would go over so well with those not familiar with the first one. So it was interesting to hear that you all enjoyed it. Not sure I want to pay to see it in 3D, though.

    I stopped by to wish you and your family a Christ filled Christmas.

  4. Don says:

    I went last night and enjoyed it immensely. I thought it was well done, well acted, and followed to original theme well. I look forward to a possible sequel that it left open in it’s closing.

    Don
    http://exposeyourblog.com

    • sparrow1969 says:

      Greetings Don,

      I’m glad you hear you liked it too. It did follow the original theme well. The nice thing about any sequel that’s created, the sky will be the limit. I am very interested to see what they might come up with.

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

